North West

Electricity Pole

Man, 40, electrocuted in Jigawa

Muhammad Bulala got electrocuted after climbing an electric pole to reconnect a cable earlier disconnected by officials of KEDCO.

Ado Doguwa

My colleagues will decide my fate as house leader — Doguwa

Mr Doguwa said his colleagues in the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) will determine whether he reclaims the position.

Days after Supreme Court victory, Kano emirs, Oba of Benin, visit Ganduje

Mr Sanusi, however, did not come in the company of his colleagues, who visited much earlier.

Bloody knife [Photo:]

Housewife stabs husband to death in Katsina

Police say Rabi Shamsudeen, 19, stabbed her husband Shamsudeen Salisu, 25, to death in Danjanku-Tasha, Malumfashi LGA.

(L-R) Founder of Tomato Jos, Mira Mehta, Executive Secretary KADIPA Umma Aboki, US Ambassador Mary Beth Leonard, CBN Godwin Emefiele, Kaduna State Governor Nasir El-Rufai and Deputy Speaker Kaduna State House of Assembly, Hon. Yusuf Zailani at the groundbreaking event of Tomato Jos tomato processing factory

El-Rufai says Tomato Jos investment confirms Kaduna State business-friendliness

Governor El-Rufai says Kaduna is well-endowed with farming potential, with vast arable land and many water sources, and is the top producer of maize, ginger, sorghum and tomatoes.

Abdullahi Ganduje, Governor of Kano State [PHOTO: Freedom Radio Nigeria]

Ganduje seeks approval for N15bn loan to fund free education in Kano

The loan will be deducted from the local governments’ monthly federal allocations.

Abdullahi Ganduje, Governor of Kano State [PHOTO: Freedom Radio Nigeria]

How APC, PDP fared in Kano rerun elections

Ali Datti-Yako of the PDP defeated a former lawmaker, Abdulmumin Jibrin of the APC, in the Kiru/Bebeji federal constituency.

Sokoto state on map

PDP wins Sokoto re-run legislative elections

Abubakar Abdullahi of PDP defeated the incumbent lawmaker, Bala Hassan of All Progressives Congress (APC), to clinch Sokoto North/Sokoto South House of Representatives seat.

Abdulmumin Jibrin

PDP candidate defeats Abdulmumin Jibrin in Kano rerun

Abdulmumin Jibrin was initially re-elected in last year’s election and led the campaign of Femi Gbajabiamila to become the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Lassa fever

Another Nigerian doctor diagnosed with Lassa Fever

This development is coming days after PREMIUM TIMES reported how two doctors and a pregnant woman died from Lassa fever in the neighbouring Kano State.

Lassa fever

Kaduna confirms new case of Lassa fever

Its health ministry said the victim is now being treated at the Infectious Diseases Control Centre.

Rabiu Kwankwaso

Kwankwaso’s spokesperson defects to APC

Binta Spikin said she parted company with Mr Kwankwaso after 2019 elections.

Kano Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje

Why I parted ways with Kwankwaso – Ganduje

Mr Ganduje says “It is natural to be a bit selfish but I have never seen anyone as selfish as Rabiu Kwankwaso.”


Armed robbers invade MTN office in Kebbi

“They carted away the money in less than five minutes’ operation; they stole over N4.5 million,” the local manager of the company said

Pregnant woman used to illustrate the story.

2 out of 10 deliveries attended by skilled birth attendants in Kano – Report

The research was conducted by Nigeria Health Watch and spanned across 49 facilities in 44 local government areas.

Students Protest in Zaria

Students Protest in Zaria – Photos

The Polytechnic is state-owned.

NIGERIA: Nigerian police force

Police kill two bandits in Kaduna, rescue 20 victims – Official

Also rescued were three workers of Airtel Communications Company abducted on Tuesday.

Lassa fever

UPDATED: Lassa Outbreak: Kano govt confirms death of 3 persons, 292 others on watch list

A pregnant woman, and two medical doctors who diagnosed her, have died of the fever.

The Kano State Chairman of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Rabiu Sulaiman-Bichi

Kano PDP chairman decamps to APC

Mr Sulaiman-Bichi is one of the closest political associates of former governor of Kano, Rabiu Kwankwaso.

FRSC officials supervising the opening of the Kara Bridge on Lagos-Ibadan Expressway to traffic on Sunday in Lagos

FRSC counters police, says seven dead in Katsina auto crash

The police had earlier said 17 persons died in the accident.

The accident scene

17 die in Katsina road accident

The police say the accident occurred on Mai’adua-Shargalle Road in Mashi Local Government Area.

Kano Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje

Supreme Court Verdict: Ganduje seeks cooperation, PDP decries ‘robbery’

Mr Ganduje urged his opponents join him to move Kano State forward.

Governor of Kano state, Abdullahi Ganduje.

Ganduje: PDP urges Kano supporters to remain calm

The Supreme Court on Monday upheld Governor Ganduje’s reelection.

Kano on map

Kano records 5.8% modern contraceptive use – Expert

Family planning utilisation in the state is still low, despite its gradual rise over the years.

UPDATED: Supreme Court upholds Tambuwal’s election as Sokoto governor

The seven-member of the apex court , in a unanimous judgement on Monday, dismissed the appeal for lacking in merit.