Ethiopians win 2019 Lagos marathon

marathon race
marathon race

Ethiopian runners on Saturday emerged as winners of the 2019 Access Bank Lagos Marathon.

In the men’s star-studded race, Sintayehu Legese finished ahead of others with a time of 2:17.26 while his compatriot Dinke Menserat, with her time of 2.48.02, won the women’s race.

Both athletes will be smiling home with the first prize of $50,000 each.

Among Nigerian athletes, Gideon Goyet was the first finisher while Deborah Pam for the second year running finished as the fastest Nigerian woman at the Lagos Marathon.

Pam was quite spectacular as she also finished among the top 10 women overall.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.