Battle for National Men’s Cricket title begins

Nigeria Cricket team

The National Cricket Federation has announced that the stage is now set for the 2017 Men’s national title.

This is coming on the heels of the conclusion of the National Women’s Championship at the Abuja Cricket Oval last weekend.

The president of the board, Adams Ukwenya, said the journey to the national finals for each team will begin on Thursday across the country.

“We are encouraged at the level of skill displayed at the Women’s final in Abuja which makes us anticipate more as the Men’s race for the finals gets underway from next Thursday,” he said.

“Again, at the Federation, we have put all necessary arrangements in place to make sure both the regional finals, quarter-finals and the Final in Lagos produce worthy champion in terms of officiating, logistics and other organisational details.”

Eight teams will emerge from the preliminary rounds at the five zones from Thursday.

The teams will proceed to quarterfinals in Lagos and Ibadan simultaneously with semi-finals on the 8th December and the Championship finals on the 9th December, at the TBS Oval, Lagos.

The Men’s Championship will be competed for by South West: Oyo, Lagos, Ogun, Osun, and Ondo; South South: Rivers, Bayelsa, Edo, Akwa Ibom and Delta; South East: Anambra, Imo, Ebonyi and Enugu; North Central: Plateau, Niger, FCT Abuja, Kogi and Kwara; North West: Kaduna, Zamfara, Kebbi, Sokoto, Jigawa and Kano.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.