Tennis: 39 countries enter for Lagos Governor’s Cup


Players from no fewer than 39 countries including Nigeria will take part in the 16th edition of the Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis Championship.

The players, who will be coming from all continents of the world, will converge at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Onikan.

They will be fighting for the $100,000 prize money and ATP points in a two-legged tournament from October to 22.

According to the International Tennis Federation, ITF, a total of 109 players will compete for honours in the singles and doubles events of both the men and women’s categories.

Interestingly, this year’s competition will see the return to the city of Lagos some former champions of the Governor’s Cup.

Top on the list of these stars is Enrique Lopez-Perez, who won the two legs of the tournament in 2012.

Ranked number 174 in the world, the Spanish star is the top seed in the Men’s Singles this year.

Also in the train to the 16th Governor’s Cup is Boy Westerhof of The Netherlands, who won the competition in 2007 and was men’s doubles winner in 2010 edition.

He is ranked number 313. Egyptian Karim-Mohamed Mohamed, Duncan Mugabe of Uganda and Mark Fynn of Zimbabwe are some of the old faces to play in the pro circuit event in Lagos.

For the first time in the history of the Governor’s Cup, a Nigerian player, Christian Paul with the ATP rank 1290, is listed in the Main Draws of the first leg of the tournament which serves off on October 10.

Other Nigerian players who will play, but will fight their ways to the Main Draws in the qualifying matches (except the wildcards from the ITF), include Slyvester Emmanuel, Moses Michael, Umar Balami, Albert Bisong.

Also, Joseph Imeh Ubon, Mohammed Mohammed, Edward Christopher Anefu, Adimabua Joseph Iyorovbe, Francis Aleji, Emmanuel Ikakah and Ilechukwu Iloputa have the chance to fight their ways to the Main Draws.

In the women’s event, 2013 and 2015 champion, Tadeja Majeric of Slovakia (239) will stage a comeback to Lagos.

She will be joined by regular faces such as Conny Perrin of Switzerland, semi finalist in last year’s event.

Perrin, who is ranked 233 is the top seed in the women’s singles.

Others are American Alexandra Riley, Indian Prathana G. Thombare, a quarter finalist last year, Ester Masuri and Keren Shlomo, both from Israel as well as Valeria Bhunu of Zimbabwe.

Melissa Ishuan Ifidzen is the highest ranked Nigerian lady with 1029 in the world, while other local ladies listed by the ITF include Osariemen Airhunmwunde, US – based Omolola Oredugba and Patience Onebamhion.

Also, Loveth Donatus, Ronke Akingbade, Aminat Quadri, Sarah Adegoke, Aanu Ayegbusi and Christie Nwankwo will be competing.

Tournament Director, Wale Oladunjoye, said the Local Organising Committee (LOC), Nigeria Tennis Federation, NTF, and the management of the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club are set to host the world in the 16th edition of the Governor’s Cup.


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD:DIABETES Is CURABLE! Don't Let It Threaten You! To NORMALIZE Your Blood Sugar In 21Days For Life, Click Here!!!.

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.