NFF Presidency: Ogunjobi, Umeh cleared; Giwa, Odegbami dropped

Taiwo Ogunjobi

The electoral committee of a faction of the Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, has cleared seven candidates to run for the post of president in the September 4 elective congress.

The faction conducting the congress is that led by embattled president, Aminu Maigari, and recognised by the world football governing body, FIFA.

Despite objections by the Chris Giwa-led faction of the NFF, organisers said the election will go on as planned in Calabar on Thursday. The Chris Giwa-led faction is that recognised by the Nigerian government.

According to the names published on the website of the electoral committee,, seven candidates have been cleared to contest the presidency while three got the green light to vie for the position of First Vice President.

Those cleared to run for presidency are: Ogunjobi Taiwo Joseph (Osun State), Yola Abba Abdullahi (Kano State), Mike Umeh – (Anambra State), Pinnick Amaju Melvin (Delta State), Iorfa Mtem Dominic (Benue State), Dikko Shehu (Kaduna State) and Amanze Uchegbulam (Imo State).

Those cleared for the position of First Vice President are: Inyama Emeka (Abia State), Adamu Shehu (Kaduna State) and Seyi Akinwunmi (Lagos State).

For the position of ‘Chairman of Chairmen’, only one candidate, Musa Ibrahim (Zamfara) was cleared.
Those cleared for board membership are:


North Central Zone:
Agara Silas (Nasarawa State)
Suleiman Kwande (Plateau State)
Ahmed Yusuf (Fresh) (Niger State)
Bewarang Yigol (Plateau State)

North East Zone:
Yahuza Haruna (Bauchi State)
Abiso Bashir (Borno State)
Modibbo Hussaini (Taraba State)
Kachalla Baba Gana (Borno State)
Zira Stephen (Adamawa State)

North West Zone:

Sharu Inuwa (Kano State)
Balele Aminu (Katsina State)
Babangida Tukur (Kano State)

South East Zone:

Agwu Anyasi (Abia State)
Obikwelu Benjamin Chukwudi (Anambra State)
Okenna Ofo (Enugu State)
Igbokwe Ikechukwu (Anambra State)

South-South Zone:

Tenebe Celestine (Edo State)
Green Tam-Abinye (Rivers State)
Oswald Atuake (Cross River State)

South West Zone:

Adepoju Olaleye (Oyo State)
Tinubu Ayodeji (Lagos State)
Sunday Ajayi (Ondo State)
Majekodunmi Adeshina

The reconstituted electoral committee stated that the under listed candidates were previously cleared to contest in the August 26 elections before they re-applied to be part of the elections postponed till September 4 as mandated.
Ogunjobi Taiwo, Mike Umeh, Amanze Uchegbulam, Inyama Emeka, Seyi Akinwunmi, Ahmed Yusuf (Fresh), Tinubu Ayodeji, Agwu Anyansi, Suleiman Kwande, Adamu Shehu, Igbokwe Ikechukwu, Atuake Oswald, Kachalla Kalli, Sharu Inuwa, Babangida Tukur, Sunday Ajayi, and Majekodunmi Adesina.

The committee also stated that Mr. Giwa and others who were previously cleared for the August 26 election but failed to re-apply for the September 4 election have not been cleared.

These are:
Giwa Christopher: North Central Zone (Plateau State) – President
Segun Odegbami: South West Zone (Ogun State) – President.
Yahaya Adama: North Central (Kogi State) – Ordinary member
Farouk Adamu: North East Zone (Gombe State) – Ordinary member
Shema Sani: North East Zone (Yobe State) – Ordinary member
Suleyman Muazu: North West Zone (Sokoto State) – Ordinary member
Obinna Ogba: South East Zone (Ebonyi State) – 1st Vice president
Johnson Effiong: South-South Zone (Akwa Ibom State) – Chairman of Chairmen
Obuah Felix: South-South Zone (Rivers State) – Ordinary member

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.