Nigeria Pitch Awards: Ahmed Musa, Francisca Ordega emerge top winners

Ahmed Musa receiving his award at the Nigeria Pitch Awards
Ahmed Musa receiving his award at the Nigeria Pitch Awards

The Super Eagles striker, Ahmed Musa, and Super Falcons player, Francisca Ordega, both won the top prizes of King and Queen of the Pitch at the 6th award ceremony of the Nigeria Pitch Awards held Saturday night in Asaba.

The award ceremony which held after the International Friendly between the Super Eagles of Nigeria and the Warriors of Zimbabwe was attended by many dignitaries including Seyi Akinwunmi, First Vice President of the Nigeria Football Federation.

Speaking at the ceremony, Mr Akinwuni who represented the NFF President, commended the organisers of the awards. He reiterated the support of the Federation for the Pitch Awards.

Shina Philips, President of the Nigeria Pitch Awards, expressed the appreciation of the organisers to the Federation and the Delta State Government.

He said the organizers remained committed to giving Nigerians a transparent and credible award.

“We will continue to do what is right because we believe our players need to be motivated by a transparent and credible reward system which will see them earn the respect of everyone in the football community,” Mr Philips said.

In the Defender of the Year category, William Troost-Ekong of Udinese starved off competition from fellow teammates Leon Balogun and Kenneth Omeruo.

In the Goalkeeper’s category, Anorthosis Famagusta goalkeeper, Francis Uzoho, beat last year’s winner, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, and Enyimba International goalie, Theophilus Afelokhai, to win the prize for the first time.

Leicester City midfielder, Wilfred Ndidi, retained the Midfielder of the Year award and Odion Ighalo the Shanghai Shenhua forward was voted the Striker of the Year.

The Sam Okwaraji Award for commitment to Nigeria Football has been one of the high points of previous Awards Ceremonies. Mr Akinwunmi last night joined Amaju Pinnick and Ifeanyi Ubah as winners of the prestigious Sam Okwaraji Award.

Aiteo Group retained the Corporate Sponsor of Football award while Enugu Rangers Coach, Gbenga Ogunbote won the Coach of the Year award.

Full List of winners

Goalkeeper of the Year – Francis Odinaka Uzoho

Defender of the Year – William Troost-Ekong

Midfielder of the Year – Wilfred Ndidi

Striker of the Year – Odion Ighalo

MVP in NPFL – Junior Lokosa

MVP in the NWFL – Rasheedat Ajibade

Queen of the Pitch – Francisca Ordega

King of the Pitch – Ahmed Musa

Coach of the Year – Gbenga Ogunbote

Club of the Year – Enugu Rangers

National Team of the Year – Super Falcons

Referee of the Year – Adebimpe Quadri

Sam Okwaraji Awards – Seyi Akinwunmi

State with the Best Grassroots Football Dev. Prog. – Lagos State

Football Friendly Gov. of the Year – Gov. Ifeanyi Okowa

Football Journalist of the Year (Print) – Johnny Edwards

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio)- Tony Bekederemo

Football Journalist of the Year (TV) – Mozez Praiz

Football Journalist of the Year (Online)- Samuel Ahmadu

Corporate Sponsor of Football – AITEO Group


PT Mag Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401...

BE THE FIRST TO KNOW! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.