Atletico Madrid win third Europa title

Atletico lifts their 3rd Europa Trophy
Atletico lifts their 3rd Europa Trophy

Atletico Madrid have emerged champions in the Europa League again, following their comprehensive 3-0 win over Olympique Marseille in Wednesday’s final at the Groupama Stadium in Lyon.

Two goals from man-of-the-match, Antoine Griezmann and another late one from Captain Gabi gave the La Liga giants the well-deserved victory.

Griezmann gave the 2010 and 2012 winners the lead in the 21st minute and the Frenchman doubled his tally early in the second period.

Atletico expertly saw things through and added a third goal late on from skipper Gabi to cap a ruthless display.

Atletico Madrid have now won the UEFA Europa League on three separate occasions since the competition’s inaugural season in 2009/10.

The new Europa League champions will be playing against Nigeria on May 22 in Uyo, Akwa Ibom state.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.