Enyeama, Oshoala win at Nigeria Pitch Awards

Vincent Enyeama
Vincent Enyeama

Super Eagles captain, Vincent Enyeama, and new Super Falcons sensation, Asisat Oshoala, emerged King and Queen of the Pitch respectively at the second edition of the Nigeria Pitch Awards held shortly after Nigeria’s 2-0 victory over Chad in Kaduna on Saturday.

The award ceremony drew eminent personalities in the Nigerian football community including Amaju Pinnick, the NFF President; Shehu Dikko, second vice President; Mohammed Sanusi, General Secretary; Chris Green; Emeka Inyanma, Shehu Kawu and other top brass of the NFF.

Dan Abia, the MD/CEO of the NDDC; Ituah Ighodalo Managing Partner of SIAO Partners, Bassey Eyo of Payporte.com; Ebi Egbe and Big Brother Africa runner up, Tayo Faniran topped the list of special guests who graced the occasion.

Addressing the large crowd at the ceremony, Mr. Pinnick, restated the federation’s commitment to giving the organisers all the support that is needed to grow the Nigeria Pitch Awards into a world class football event.

While speaking on the award process, Mr. Ighodalo, whose audit firm coordinated the voting process, stated that the process was transparent and credible as it reflected the wish of the voters. He said the breakdown of the results would be published after the results were announced.

In the players’ category, Enyeama clinched the Best Goalkeeper Award while Kenneth Omeruo and Ogenyi Onazi emerged Best Defender and Midfielder respectively. Ahmed Musa beat Ike Uche and Mfon Udoh to the Striker of the Year Award.

Kano Pillars again emerged the Club of the Year; Okey Emordi, the Coach of the Year; Ferdinand Udoh, Best Referee, Felix Anyansi-Agwu of Enyimba FC the Manager of the Year and John Shittu, the Players’ Agent of the Year.

In other categories, Liyel Imoke, former Governor of Cross River State picked up the Football Friendly Governor for 2014 and Lagos State, for the second time running, won the State with the Best Grassroots Football Development Programme.

The media category saw Tana Aiyejina of Punch emerge as the Football Journalist of the Year in the Print Category. Toyin Ibitoye of Channels TVand Bimbo Adeola of Star FM won the TV and Radio categories.

The chairman of Channels TV, John Momoh was honoured with the Special Recognition in Football Award for his contributions to the development of football through the National Channels Kids Competition while Super Eagles coach, Stephen Keshi, who attended the ceremony along with all his backroom staff, received the Football Achievement Award.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.