Rwanda names 30-man provisional list for Eagles match

The Eagles are warming up for the Rwandans

Elias Uzamukunda, who plays for French Club AS Cannes, is the only Europe-based player in the 30-man provisional list  released by the Rwandan FA ahead of the 2013 Africa Nations Cup first leg qualifier against the Super Eagles.

The 30 players are jostling for shirts in the final team that will confront Nigeria in Kigali on February 29 .

Break down

A break down of the list shows that three goalkeepers, 10 defenders, 11 midfielders and six strikers were invited.

Coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic, who has had a near perfect start as Rwanda coach after a run of seven wins, two draws and one defeat, is targeting an upset against the Eagles, who are still smarting from their failure to make it to the just concluded Nations Cup tournament.

Already the Confederation of African Football has chosen South African referee, Daniel Bennett, to handle the Rwanda Nigeria game.

The 36-year-old is one of South Africa’s five FIFA-badged referees, and will be assisted by fellow South Africans, Zakhele Thusi Siwela (1st Assistant), Luyanda Somi (2nd Assistant) and Tinyiko Victor Hlungani (Reserve Referee). Hassan Waberi Suleiman from Djibouti will be the match commissioner.

‎Meanwhile Super Eagles coach stephen keshi is also expected to make public the list of Nigerian players to be invited for the Rwanda game before the week runs out.

Rwanda Squad

Goalkeepers: Jean Claude Ndoli (APR), Jean Luc Ndayishimiye (APR) and Pascal Dukuzeyezu (SC Kiyovu)

Defenders: Ndabo Albert (APR), Soter Kayumba (Etincelles), Eric Gasana (APR), Solomon Nirisarike (Isonga), Emery Bayisenge (Isonga), Gabriel Mugabo (Mukura), Patrick Umwungeri (SC Kiyovu) Ismail Nshutiyamagara (APR), Sadou Aboubacar (Oman) and Jonas Nahimana (AC Leopards-Kenya)

Midfielders: Jean Baptista Mugiraneza (APR), Hussein Sibomana (SC Kiyovu), Tumaine Ntamuhanga (Rayon Sport), Hegman Ngoma (APR), Eric Nsabimana (Isonga), Jean Paul Havugarurema (La Jeunesse), Jerome Sina (Rayon Sport), Haruna Niyonzima (Yanga-Tanzania), Charles Tibingana (Proline-Uganda), Jean Claude Iranzi (APR) and Farouk Ruhinda (Isonga)

Strikers: Elias Uzamukunda (AS Cannes-France), Dady Birori (AS Vita-DR Congo), Meddie Kagere (Police), Bokota Labama Kamana (Rayon Sport), Bonny Bayingana (Express-Uganda) and Olivier Karekezi (APR).

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.