Lionel Messi remains world's best player

Lionel Messi


Barcelona and Argentina forward, Lionel Messi has edged team-mate Xavi and Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo to retain his title as the world’s best player.

Messi, 24 becomes only the second player, after Michel Platini, to win the award for three consecutive years.

“It’s a great personal pleasure for me,” said Messi.

“It’s the third time I’ve won it. It’s just an amazing honour. I want to thank everyone that’s been involved with me – my team-mates, trainers, physios, the coach (Pep Guardiola) and everyone at Barcelona.

“I’d also like to thank the Argentina national team as well.”

Amongst other top performances, Messi was voted man of the match in the Champions League final in 2011, he also won the Primera Division, Spanish Supercopa, Uefa Super Cup and Club World Cup last year. 

Manchester United manager, Sir Alex Ferguson, and Xavi paid tribute to Messi. 

Tributes for Messi

Ferguson said Messi could now be judged alongside the greats of world football through the ages, even though he is still only 24. 

“Critics have always questioned whether players like Pele from the 50s could play today,” said Ferguson. 

“The answer to that is great players would play in any generation. Lionel Messi could play in the 1950s and the present day, as could Di Stefano, Pele, Maradona, Cruyff because they are all great players. 

“Lionel Messi without question fits into that category.” 

Messi’s Barcelona team-mate Xavi supported Ferguson’s view, saying: “He’s still young, only 24, and I think he’s going to break all the records that exist in this sport. 

“He’s going to be one of the best footballers in the history of the sport.” 

Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney and Nemanja Vidic were both included in the world XI dominated by Spain-based players. 

Rooney said at the gala: “It was a great year and the highlight was winning the Premier League for the 19th time, which was a great moment for the club.” 

Other awardees

Barcelona’s Pep Guardiola was named coach of the year; Japan’s women’s World Cup-winning captain Homare Sawa the women’s player; Japan’s (male) manager Norio Sasaki coach of the year for women’s football; the Japanese FA were awarded the Fifa fair play award; Brazilian 19 year-old sensation Neymar won the Fifa Puskas award for the best goal of 2011. 

FIFPro team of the year: 

Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Dani Alves (Barcelona), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Nemanja Vidic (Man Utd), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Xavi (Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd). 

Three-time winners of Ballon d’Or 

Johan Cruyff (Hol) 

Michel Platini (Fra) 

Marco van Basten (Hol) 

Lionel Messi (Arg) 


Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.