Uganda names 25-man squad for Nigeria friendly

The Head coach of Uganda’s National Team, Miltun ‘Micho’ Sredojevic, has reeled out a list of 25-players for next week’s friendly between his side and the Super Eagles of Nigeria.

Topping the list of players for the friendly match billed to take place on March 25 at the Akwa Ibom International stadium is Seattle Sounders’ star, Azira Mike.

The Ugandan team, who were picked by the Nigeria Football Federation as replacement for Bolivia, are expected to hit camp on Saturday with the invited home-based players at the Philip Omondi Stadium, Lugogo, to effectively begin preparations for the Eagles friendly.

The Uganda Cranes will depart for Addis Ababa on Sunday to link up with foreign-based players invited before heading to Uyo en-route Abuja.

They are expected to hold their first training session on Monday in Abuja before heading to Uyo on Tuesday for the encounter at the “Nest of Champions” pitch.

Currently on a two-match unbeaten run, Uganda have played Nigeria twice in recent times with both teams winning their respective home game in the 2008 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The Cranes defeated the Super Eagles 2-1 in Kampala leg and lost 1-0 to the Super Eagles away in Abeokuta.

Full Uganda Squad List:

Goalkeepers: Onyango Denis (Mamelodi Sundowns-South Africa), Odonkara Robert (St. George FC-Ethiopia), Jamal Salim (El Merreikh-Sudan), Watenga Isma (Vipers FC –Uganda).

Defenders: Isinde Isaac (St. George- Ethiopia), Jjuko Murushid (Simba Sc-Tanzania), Kassaga Richard (Salam Zgharta-Lebanon), Nsubuga Joseph (Bright Stars –Uganda), Kiyemba Ibrahim (Lweza Fc-Uganda), Bakaki Shafiq (Express Fc-Uganda), Kakuba Alex (Estoril Praia-Portugal), Walusimbi Godfrey (Gor Mahia- Kenya)

Midfielders: Iguma Denis (Al Ahed- Lebanon), Aucho Khalid (Gor Mahia -Kenya), Kizito Keziron (Vipers FC-Uganda), Tekwo Derrick (Kira Young), Azira Mike (Seattle Sounders-US), Chrizestom Ntambi (Sc Villa-Uganda), Majwega Brian (Azam FC- Tanzania), Luwagga William Kizito (Sporting Covilha –Portugal), Miya Farouk (Vipers FC- Uganda)

Strikers: Massa Geoffrey (Pretoria University –South Africa), Umony Brian (Saint George FC-Ethiopia), Ssentongo Robert (URA FC-Uganda), Edema Patrick (Beira Mar-Portugal).


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.