Amaju Pinnick emerges President of NFF

Amaju Pinnick

Amaju Pinnick has emerged the winner of the Nigeria Football Federation’s, NFF, presidential election.

There were two voting rounds because Mr. Pinnick failed to get the required two third votes at first attempt.

He emerged the winner above other contestants from the different geo-political zones and former NFF executives Taiwo Ogunjobi, Shehu Dikko, Dominic Iorfa and Amanze Uchegbulam.

Mr. Pinnick got 32 of the 44 votes while Dominic Iorfa had eight votes, Taiwo Ogunjobi left with four votes and Amanze Uchegbulam got no vote.

Mr. Pinnick, the current Delta State football association chairman, has never held any position at the NFF. He is the current Executive Chairman of the Delta State Sports Commission, and the Chairman, Warri Wolves Football Club.

Mr. Pinnick set up the state’s sports commission in 2007 and has seen Delta state win in sports festival across the country. He led Delta State to win 114 gold, 99 silver and 75 bronze medals at the 2012 National Sports Festival held in Lagos.

The NFF has been riddled with crisis since the end of the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil. It currently has a pending court injunction stopping the election from holding.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.