BUA Group Ad BUA Group Ad BUA Group Ad

BRAZIL 2014 Team Profile: England

13 Appearances
1 Titles
10 FIFA Ranking position

How they qualified 
England finished top of European Group H to reach the 2014 FIFA World Cup™ after securing victory on the final matchday against Poland, banishing the demons of four decades earlier when a draw against the same opponents saw the Three Lions miss out on the 1974 tournament.

The road to Brazil 2014 was not as smooth as their campaign to reach South Africa, where they won nine of their ten matches on the way to the 2010 finals. Even though Roy Hodgson guided his side to an undefeated campaign, automatic qualification evaded England until the final match at Wembley. Two draws against closest rivals Ukraine, as well as stalemates in Warsaw and Podogorica, left England fans nervous until captain Steven Gerrard put the home match against Poland beyond doubt with a late goal to double his side’s advantage and seal qualification.

FIFA World Cup finals history
England have appeared at 13 editions of the FIFA World Cup, including seven of the last eight. They were below-par at South Africa in 2010, narrowly qualifying from their group with a victory in the final match against Slovenia, before being outclassed 4-1 by Joachim Low’s Germany at the Round of 16 stage. The Three Lions have been FIFA World Cup winners once, in 1966 when they were hosts, but have since suffered a succession of early exits. Sir Bobby Robson came closest to matching the achievements of Sir Alf Ramsey’s ‘Wingless Wonders’, guiding England to the semi-finals at Italy 1990 only to be knocked out on penalties by Germany.

The key players
Wayne Rooney remains England’s greatest talent and his seven goals in six World Cup qualifying starts underlined his importance to Roy Hodgson’s side. In midfield, Gerrard and Frank Lampard provide experience and creativity while young guns Jack Wilshere, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Ross Barkley highlight the Three Lions’ attacking flair for the future. Danny Welbeck came into his own during qualification, scoring four goals on the way to the finals, while Daniel Sturridge’s emergence as one of the English Premier League’s top forwards can only bolster Roy Hodgson’s attacking options for Brazil.

Coach: Roy Hodgson
Best performance in a FIFA competition: FIFA World Cup England 1966 (Winners), FIFA World Youth Championship Australia 1993 (Third place)
Former stars: Sir Bobby Charlton, Peter Shilton, Gary Lineker


Group D
Teams MP W D L GF GA Pts
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0



1 Joe HART, Goalkeeper
2 Glen JOHNSON, Defender
4 Steven GERRARD, Midfielder
5 Gary CAHILL, Defender
6 Phil JAGIELKA, Defender
7 Jack WILSHERE, Midfielder
8 Frank LAMPARD, Midfielder
10 Wayne ROONEY, Forward
11 Danny WELBECK, Forward
12 Chris SMALLING, Defender
13 Ben FOSTER, Goalkeeper
14 Jordan HENDERSON, Midfielder
16 Phil JONES, Defender
17 James MILNER, Midfielder
19 Raheem STERLING, Midfielder
20 Adam LALLANA, Midfielder
21 Ross BARKLEY, Midfielder
22 Fraser FORSTER, Goalkeeper
23 Luke SHAW, Defender


Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401...



PT Mag Campaign AD

More News

Next Post
Leave Comment




Stanbic Ad

Access Bank Ad

Glo Ad

Subscribe to News via Email

Enter your email address and receive notifications of news by email.

Join 1,687,060 other subscribers.


netherland biz school Advert

Zenith Advert