Brazil 2014: Spain, Belgium, France name provisional squads

Samri Nasri was omitted for France

Spain, France, and Belgium have released their provisional squads for the Brazil 2014 World Cup.

Fernando Torres was named in Spain’s 30-man provisional squad for the World Cup.

There is, however, no place for Tottenham Hotspur striker, Roberto Soldado.

Aside from Torres, Coach Del Bosque has included eight more Premier League players, including Liverpool goalkeeper José Reina, who has spent the season on loan at Napoli.

The defending champions have also included seven players from Barcelona and four each from Champions League finalists Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid.

Del Bosque will announce his final 23-man squad on May 25.

Spain are in Group D of the World Cup alongside Netherlands, Chile and Australia.

Also, Manchester United winger, Adnan Januzaj, has been included in Belgium’s provisional World Cup squad.
The 19-year-old, who has made 34 appearances for United this season, is among 12 Premier League players included in Marc Wilmot’s squad, which will be cut by one player before the tournament begins.

Chelsea duo, Eden Hazard and Romelu Lukaku, United midfielder, Marouane Fellaini, and Manchester City captain, Vincent Kompany, are among the Premier League players included.

Roma midfielder Radja Nainggolan is not included in the team, but is named on the standby list of players available to replace any members of the provisional squad who are injured ahead of the tournament.

Also included on the standby list are the likes of Thorgan Hazard, Guillaume Gillet and Standard Liege forward Michy Batshuayi.

Belgium are drawn in Group H alongside Russia, Algeria, and South Korea and kick off their campaign against Algeria on June 17.

Meanwhile, Nasri was excluded in France’s provisional World Cup list.
There is plenty of Premier League representation; with nine players currently playing in English football’s topflight, including Arsenal trio: Laurent Koscielny, Bacary Sagna and Olivier Giroud.

France World Cup list

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Steve Mandanda (Marseille), Mickael Landreau (Bastia)

Defenders: Raphael Varane (Real Madrid), Mamadou Sakho (Liverpool), Mathieu Debuchy (Newcastle), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Lucas Digne (PSG), Eliaquim Mangala (Porto), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Patrice Evra (Manchester United).

Midfield: Yohan Cabaye (PSG), Paul Pogba (Juventus), Blaise Matuidi (PSG), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle), Clement Grenier (Lyon), Rio Mavuba (Lille), Mathieu Valbuena (Marseille).

Forwards: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich), Antoine Griezmann (Real Sociedad), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Loic Remy (Newcastle).

Reserve: Remy Cabella (Montpellier), Maxime Gonalons (Lyon), Alexandre Lacazette (Lyon), Loic Perrin (Saint-Etienne), Stephane Ruffier (Saint-Etienne), Morgan Schneiderlin (Southampton), Benoit Tremoulinas (Saint-Etienne).

Spain’s list

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Napoli), David De Gea (Manchester United)

Defenders: Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Alberto Moreno (Seville), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich), Raul Albiol (Napoli), Juanfran Torres (Atletico Madrid), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao), Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona), Jesus Navas (Manchester City), David Silva (Manchester City), Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Manchester United), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)

Forwards: Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), David Villa (Atletico Madrid), Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City), Fernando Llorente (Juventus) (Reporting by Tim Hanlon, editing by Ed Osmond)

Belgium’s squad

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois, Simon Mignolet, Koen Casteels, Silvio Proto

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld, Anthony Vanden Borre, Laurent Ciman, Vincent Kompany, Daniel van Buyten, Thomas Vermaelen, Nicolas Lombaerts, Jan Vertonghen

Midfielders: Axel Witsel, Steven Defour, Marouane Fellaini, Moussa Dembélé, Nacer Chadli, Kevin De Bruyne, Eden Hazard, Dries Mertens, Kevin Mirallas, Adnan Januzaj

Attackers: Romelu Lukaku, Divock Origi.

Reserves: Nainggolan, Pocognoli, Hazard, Gillet, Batshuayi, Van Damme

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.