Nigeria dominates CAF Awards as Yaya Toure retains African crown

Despite missing out on the night’s most coveted award; The CAF African Footballer of the Year Award, which was carted away by Ivorian and Manchester City’s Yaya Toure, Nigeria nonetheless dominated proceedings at the 2013 Glo-CAF Awards held at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos.

It was Nigeria all the way at the 2013 Glo CAF Awards as the country won six of the 11 categories in the prestigious football Awards.

Leading the way on the night in Lagos was the Coach of the Super Eagles, Stephen Keshi, who was voted Coach of the Year following his ground breaking achievements with the national team; the height being the triumph at the Africa Cup of Nations in South Africa.

Also Manchester City bound Nigerian youngster, Kelechi Iheanacho, was voted as Africa’s Most Promising Talent, beating other talented young footballers also nominated from Ghana and Egypt.

For the CAF Fair Play Award, the Nigeria Supporters were undisputedly awarded the honour while the Super Eagles beat Ethiopia and Burkina Faso to the National Team of the Year Award.

Nigeria’s U-17 team, winner of the FIFA U-17 World Cup, were also named Youth National team of the year.

Coach Stephen Keshi and three Super Egles players were also named in CAF Finest XI.

An Honorary Award was also presented to Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan. The prize was received on his behalf by Minister of Sports, Bolaji Abdullahi.

In the other categories, Egyptian club Al-Ahly for the umpteenth time were voted as the Club of the Year while Egyptian Legend Abou Treika was on hand to collect the award for the best player based in Africa. Nigeria’s Sunday Mba finished runners-up in that category

Also Algerian referee Haimoudi Djamel was voted the best amongst his colleagues while the duo of Bruno Metsu and Mahdi Fariah were honoured as CAF Legends for 2013.

While it was a good night in all for Nigeria, Mikel Obi missing out on the top prize was the low point as Nigeria’s 15-year wait to see one of her players crowned as the Africa’s best continues.

On the other hand, Yaya Toure has joined legends like Samuel Eto’o and Abedi Pele who have won the CAF Awards in three successive years.

Full list of winners

Africa player of the year:

Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

Africa-based player of the year:

Mohamed Abou-Treika (Egypt)

Referee of the year:

Djamel Haimoudi (Algeria)

Most Promising Talent:

Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria)

Coach of the Year:Stephen Keshi (Nigeria)

National Team:


Club of the Year:

Ahly (Egypt)

Youth National team of the year: 

Nigeria U-17, winner of the FIFA U-17 World Cup

CAF Fair play award:

Nigeria supporters

CAF Legend:

Bruno Metsu (France)

Mehdi Jose Faria (Brazil)

Africa XI :

Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria) – Ahmed Fathi (Egypt), Mehdi Benatia (Morocco), Kevin Constant (Guinea) – Mohamed Abou-Treika (Egypt), John Obi Mikel (Nigeria), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast), Jonathan Pitroipa (Burkina Faso) – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon), Emmanuel Emenike (Nigeria), Asamoah Gyan (Ghana).

Coach: Keshi

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.