Flying Eagles name provisional list for FIFA U-20 World Cup finals

The Nigerian under-20 men football team, the Flying Eagles, on Saturday named a 30-man provisional squad ahead of next month’s FIFA U-20 World Cup finals in Turkey.

Sammy Audu, the team’s Media Officer, said in a statement in Abuja that the squad includes 18 players which played at the African Youth Championship (AYC) in Algeria in March.

“These players include skipper Abduljaleel Ajagun, Enugu Rangers striker Alhaji Gero, as well as Olanrewaju Kayode and Umar Aminu who was the highest goal scorer at the 2013 AYC,’’ he said in the statement.

The team spokesman said further that 12 new players had been picked preparatory to the competition scheduled for June 21 to July 13.

“They include Switzerland-based goalkeeper Sebastian Osigwe, Moses Simon who recently signed for Ajax Amsterdam, as well as Nigeria under-17 defender, Wilfred Ndidi, who features for Nath Boys in the Lagos Junior League,’’ he said.

He stated further that there are six players from overseas clubs, with the rest coming from the Nigerian domestic leagues.

Below is the full list of the Flying Eagles squad:

Goalkeepers — Samuel Okani (Enyimba), Jonah Usman (ABS FC), John Felegha (Eupen, Belgium) and Sebastian Osigwe (FC Emmenbrucke, Switzerland)

Defenders — Shehu Abdullahi (Kano Pillars), Moses Orkuma (Lobi Stars), Ikechukwu Okorie (Enyimba), Kingsley Madu (El Kanemi), Collins Jamilu (HNK Rijeka, Croatia), Chizoba Amaefule (Dolphins), Wilfred Ndidi (Nath Boys), Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (Charlton Athletic youth team), and Hassan Abubakar (Wikki Tourists)

Midfielders — Agboyi Ovbokha (Bayelsa United), Mathias Samuel (Kano Pillars), Abduljaleel Ajagun (Dolphins), Christian Pyagbara (unattached), Uche Agbo (Enyimba), and Michael Olaitan (Olympiacos, Greece)

Forwards — Edafe Egbedi (AGF Aarhus, Denmark), Moses Simon (Unattached), Lucky Omeruo (Bayelsa United), Chidi Osuchukwu (Dolphins), Bright Ejike (Heartland), Umar Aminu (Wikki Tourists), Olanrewaju Kayode (unattached), Daniel Etor (Akwa United), Alhaji Gero (Enugu Rangers), Sikiru Alimi (Union Bank FC) and Samuel Eduok (Dolphins).


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.