Zenith Bank Women’s Basketball League: First Deepwater, First Bank continue dominance

The two teams lead the two groups in the competition holding in Abuja.

First Deepwater and First Bank continued their dominance on Friday as participating teams returned from a day’s rest at the on-going 9th Zenith Bank National Women’s Basketball League in Abuja.

The two Lagos-based sides won again to maintain their perfect record of five wins from five matches for 10 points each as the competition entered its fifth match-day.

The 16-team league competition, which is in its first phase, is holding at the Indoor Sports Hall of the Abuja National Stadium.

The competition which is in two groups had kicked off on Saturday with an opening ceremony and two matches, with eight matches holding daily from morning till evening.

It entered its fourth day on Wednesday, with teams breaking off from matches for a rest on Thursday and resuming on Friday with day five matches.

Both First Deepwater and First Bank had won all their matches till Wednesday to lead groups A and B respectively.

However, on Friday, defending champions First Deepwater picked it up from where they had left it off with a 57-23 win over AHIP Queens of Kano.

It was their fifth win from five matches for 10 points, with Sunshine Queens of Akure joining them at the summit with a win too.

They beat the Coal City Queens of Enugu 81-29, but have settled for second place in view of inferior points difference.

In other matches in Group A, competition’s new entrants GT-2000 of Kaduna upset FCT Angels of Abuja 62-53 while Nigeria Customs of Lagos beat Taraba Hurricanes 77-13.

Group B

In Group B, last year’s runners-up and former champions First Bank are still leaders after 10 points from five matches, following a 70-37 win over Oluyole Babes of Ibadan.

Dolphins of Lagos are still in second place with nine points, after beating IGP Queens of Lagos 79-36 for four wins from five matches.

In the other matches in the group, Plateau Rocks of Jos beat Nigerian Immigration of Abuja 50-35 while Delta Force of Asaba were 55-54 winners over Benue Queens of Makurdi.

The league’s second phase will hold from May 2 to May 12 in Asaba.

The third phase, which is the Final Eight Play-offs and will determine the league champions, will hold in Lagos from June 7 to16.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.