Kenya Coach calls up 27 players ahead of Nigeria clash

The match will be played in Calabar on March 23.

Harambee stars kenya

Adel Amrouche, the head coach of Kenya’s national team, The Harambee Stars, has named a provisional list of 27 Kenyan-based players to kick start preparations for the crunch game against Nigeria in the 2014 World Cup qualifiers.

The newly hired Belgian-Algerian coach has the tough task of squaring up against the Super Eagles, the new Africa Champions, in Calabar on March 23 in the race to the 2014 World Cup in Brazil

According to local media in Kenya, included in the list are few surprises with the most notable being KRA’s Hassan Mohamed who is named among the strikers.

Chemelil Sugar FC’s goal keeper, Fredrick Onyango, is also among the call ups as well as Sofapaka’s Bob Mugalia and Tusker FC’s new signing Micheal Olunga. Sofapaka captain, James Situma, has made a return to the team after missing the Libya friendly.

Bandari’s Abdulatif Omar has also been named after resuming action following a horrific knee injury. He will be in the team alongside his club mate, Crispin Odula, as well as Western Stima’s Daniel Onyango.

On his part, Head Coach of the Nigerian Super Eagles, Stephen Keshi, has revealed that he will announce his list of players on March 9 for the duel with Kenya’s Harambee Stars.

“The list for the Super Eagles for that game against Kenya will be released on March 9, exactly two weeks before the game against Kenya so Nigerians can see who is in and who is out,” Keshi told Supersports.

The ‘Big Boss’ however failed to reveal if there would be any surprises on the cards.

Nigeria currently tops Group F of the 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifying rounds with four points from two matches.

Apart from Nigeria, the other group members are Kenya, Malawi and Kenya.

Full list of Kenyan invitee:

Keepers: Duncan Ochieng, Boniface Oluoch, Fredrick Onyango (Chemelil Sugar); Defenders: Edwin Wafula, James Situma, Abdalla Juma, Collins Kisuya, Abdulatif Omar, David Owino, David Ochieng, Eugene Asike, James Mulinge, Crispin Odula; Midfielders: Anthony Akumu, Anthony Kimani (Sofapaka), Peter Opiyo, Daniel Onyango (Western Stima), Kevin Omondi, Bob Mugalia, Francis Kahata, Paul Were; Strikers: Jesse Were, Rama Salim, Paul Mungai, Michael Olunga, Allan Wanga, Mohamed Hassan (KRA).

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.