Nations Cup qualifying teams

Super Eagles of Nigeria

Nigeria will join 15 other teams for the competition.


A total of 16 teams, including host South Africa, have qualified for the 2013 CAF African Cup of Nations.

While it was a shock exit and non-qualification for giants like Cameroon, others like defending Champions, Zambia, narrowly qualified after beating Uganda on penalties.

Cameroon failed to qualify for the tournament as they lost to minnows, Cape Verde; while Ethiopia qualified for their first Nations Cup in 30 years.

Below are the results of qualifying matches played over the weekend and the list of the 16 teams that will be in South Africa 2013.


FT – Malawi 0-1 Ghana (first leg 0-2)

FT – Uganda (8) 1-0 (9) Zambia (0-1)

FT – Botswana 1-4 Mali (0-3)

FT – Nigeria 6-1 Liberia (2-2)

FT – Tunisia 0-0 Sierra Leone (2-2)

ABAN – Senegal 0-2 Ivory Coast (2-4)

FT – Morocco 4-0 Mozambique (0-2)


FT – Ethiopia 2-0 Sudan (first leg 3-5)

FT – Cameroon 2-1 Cape Verde (0-2)

FT – Angola 2-0 Zimbabwe (1-3)

FT – Niger 2-0 Guinea (0-1)

FT – Togo 2-1 Gabon (1-1)

FT – Equatorial Guinea 2-1 DR Congo (0-4)

FT – Burkina Faso 3-1 Central African Republic (0-1)

FT – Algeria 2-0 Libya (1-0)

The Teams that qualified for African Cup of Nations 2013 are:

Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Mali, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, South Africa, Togo, Tunisia, and Zambia.

The draws for the 2013 African Cup of Nations will hold on October 24 in Durban, South Africa.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.