Elections: PDP wins majority seat in Oyo House of Assembly

Seyi Makinde, Oyo governor-elect
Seyi Makinde, Oyo governor-elect

The Peoples Democratic Party has garnered a majority of the seats at the Oyo State House of Assembly.

It won 26 of the total assembly seats, while the ruling APC managed to win five of the seats.

The last seat went to the Action Democratic Party, ADP. The house has 32 members.

The Oyo State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mutiu Agboke, who confirmed the results, said the results have already been declared at the different local government headquarters.

He also said that the supplementary election for the federal constituency was also won by the PDP’s Ajibola Muraina.

The PDP governorship candidate, Seyi Makinde, also won the governorship election in the state and was set to be declared the winner at the time of this report.


PT Mag Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401...

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.