Ekiti APC picks consensus candidates for state assembly

APC Secretariat
File photo of an APC Secretariat

In the run up to the 2019 general elections, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates for the 26 Seats of the Ekiti State House of Assembly emerged on Tuesday through consensus.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the list included four women and 22 men.

The candidates are to be formally affirmed by party delegates at the House of Assembly primary scheduled for October 2.

The APC constitution allows for emergence of consensus candidates.

A dependable source within the party revealed that loyalty, commitment to party principles and pedigree of the candidates played major roles in their adoption.

The candidates include former Majority Leader, Funminiyi Afuye (Ikere 1) and current Minority Leader, Gboyega Aribisogan (Ikole 1) who has been given the ticket to seek a re-election.

Mr Aribisogan, recently defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the APC after falling out with Governor Ayodele Fayose.

The four women include former Special Adviser to Mr Fayemi on Revenue Matters, Bunmi Adelugba (Emure) and former Special Assistant to Wife of Governor, Yemisi Ayokunle (Ekiti Southwest 1).

Others are former Special Assistant to Fayemi’s late deputy, Kemi Balogun (Ado 2) and former Personal Assistant to Deputy Governor, Teju Okuyiga (Gbonyin).

However, the male candidates also included former Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Research and Documentation, Hakeem Jamiu (Irepodun/Ifelodun 2); and former Permanent Secretary, Government House and Protocol, Akin Oso (Ido/Osi 2).

The list also have former Chairman, Ekiti East Local Government, Lateef Akanle (Ekiti East 2) and former Caretaker Chairman, Ekiti West Local Government, Tajudeen Akingbolu (Ekiti West 1).

Also on the list are Oluwatoyin Lucas (Ado 1), Babatunde Lawrence (Ikere 2), Reuben Awoyemi (Oye 1), Yemi Osuntuyi (Oye 2), Adeoye Aribasoye (Ikole 2), Abiodun Fawekun (Ido/Osi 1) and Adejuwa Adegbuyi (Ekiti East 2).

Others are Johnson Adeoye (Ekiti West 2), Olatunji (Ekiti Southwest 2), Adeyemi Ajibade (Moba 1), Michael Arubu (Moba 2), Dele Ajayi (Ise/Orun), Tope Ogunleye (Ilejemeje), Ademola Ojo (Ijero) and Femi Akindele (Irepodun/Ifelodun 2).

However, the newly elected State Publicity Secretary of the APC, Ade Ajayi, did not deny or confirm the list.

He said the party was making arrangements toward ensuring a peaceful primary, but he would not be able to elaborate on the development now.


Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.