OsunDecides: APC asks defecting lawmakers to resign

Osun State Governor, Rauf Aregbesola
Osun State Governor, Rauf Aregbesola

On the day three members of the Osun House of Assembly left the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Action Democratic Party (ADP), another member has dumped the party for the African Democratic Congress (ADC).

PREMIUM TIMES learnt that the latest defector, Olaolu Oyeniran, who represents Odo-Otin state constituency, announced his defection in his hometown, Okuku, on Saturday evening.

It is not clear if Mr Oyeniran has formally written to the Assembly speaker to announce his defection as constitutionally expected.

Mr. Oyeniran’s defection made it the fourth state legislator to leave the APC on a day. This newspaper had earlier reported that Debo Akanbi who represents Ede North, Tajudeen Famuyide, representing Ilesha West and Abdullahi Ibrahim representing Iwo Local Government Area dumped the party to ADP on the allegations that the ruling APC is marred with nepotism.

When contacted, Kunle Oyatomi, the Director of Publicity of APC, said the defecting members are “free to go but should resign.”

“The APC is functional and not moved by recent defection of some people. The defected members of state House of Assembly should also honourably resign their membership of the House,” he said.

There is no indication any of the lawmakers would resign as scores of other lawmakers have also changed parties across Nigeria in the build up to the 2019 general election.

The Osun governorship election holds on September 22 with over 40 candidates.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.