Osun 2018: Three assembly members dump APC for ADP

APC logo used to illustrate the story.
APC logo used to illustrate the story.

Barely 21 days to the Osun State governorship election scheduled to hold on September 22, the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has suffered another setback as three of the state’s lawmakers defected to Action Democratic Party (ADP) on Saturday.

The defectors are Debo Akanbi who is representing Ede North, Tajudeen Famuyide, representing Ilesha West and Abdullahi Ibrahim, representing Iwo local government.

They were received at ADP’s secretariat by the chairman of the party, Toye Akinola, and the deputy governorship candidate of the party, Adeolu Durotoye.

Speaking on behalf of the defectors, Mr Akanbi said they dumped APC because of nepotism that led to the emergence of Gboyega Oyetola as the party’s candidate.

They accused the state governor and some party leaders of handpicking Mr Oyetola despite clamour that Osun West should be supported for the governorship position.

“We know the foundation of All Progressives Congress in the state and we agreed with Governor Aregbesola to spend eight years in power not that when he is leaving, he will anoint a candidate.”

“We kick against nepotism in the party and many more supporters of APC are still coming to ensure the victory of Moshood Adeoti come September 22. We can’t cope with dictatorship anymore,” Mr Akanbi said.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.