Ekiti 2018: 14 governors, 63 others lead APC’s campaign

(L-R) National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi; National Vice Chairman (North West), Inuwa Abdulkadir; Ondo State Governor, H.E. Rotimi Akeredolu; Deputy National Chairman (North), Senator Lawali Shuaibu and National Organising Secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso during the inauguration.
(L-R) National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi; National Vice Chairman (North West), Inuwa Abdulkadir; Ondo State Governor, H.E. Rotimi Akeredolu; Deputy National Chairman (North), Senator Lawali Shuaibu and National Organising Secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso during the inauguration.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) inaugurated a 77-member National Campaign Council to ensure victory for the party’s governorship candidate, Kayode Fayemi, at the July 14 Ekiti Governorship Election.

The committee inaugurated by the APC deputy national chairman (North), Lawali Shuaibu, on behalf of the national chairman, John Odigie-Oyegun, is headed by the governor of Kebbi State, Abubakar Bagudu.

The campaign council consists of fourteen serving governors, ministers, some members of the Party’s National Working Committee (NWC), national assembly members and senior party leaders.

Speaking during the inauguration, Mr Shuaibu, while stressing the importance of the Ekiti governorship election to the party, urged the campaign council to shun hate speech in its campaign message to the people of Ekiti.

“Please avoid hate speech. Let us ensure that we don’t use hate speech during our campaigns. If other parties do that, our concern should be to capture the hearts of the Ekiti people in going out to bring to an end the four-year comedy that has been going on there.

“The election in Ekiti is very important for the APC. In fact, we feel the level of importance of the election is slightly below the importance of the presidential election to us. We are not going to relent in our effort to win Ekiti State. The responsibility now rests on your shoulders.”

The national organising secretary, Osita Izunaso, who was also present at the inauguration, expressed the party’s resolve to win the Ekiti governorship election.

“The election should be a must win for our party. We won that election before, it was taken away fraudulently. This time around, we want to win it again and retain it.”

The chairman of the party’s national campaign council, Abubakar Bagudu, represented by the Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, at the inauguration, called for unity among the campaign council and all stakeholders to ensure victory, come July.

“We take this task as very important. Just as we all have stressed it. This will not be the first time the party is expressing and underscoring the importance of this election. When South-West Party leaders met with the president recently, he underscored the importance of this election.

“We have faced enough of affront as a party. Challenge has been thrown to us not only by the PDP, but by Governor Fayose. So we must be united to confront that challenge. We will give our all to ensure that we win Ekiti State for the APC.

“This will be a second battle. Somebody I read on Facebook said something about Ekiti and I said by the Grace of God, it will happen that way. I tell you what he said, ‘Akeredolu contested against Mimiko, he lost. He contested thereafter against Mimiko’s candidate, he won. So if Fayemi contested against Fayose and lost, he is now contesting against Fayose’s candidate. He will win.”

Below is the full list of the campaign council members


  1. Abubakar  Bagudu         –          Governor Kebbi (Chairman)
  2. Akinwunmi  Ambode    –           Governor Lagos
  3. Ibikunle Amosun            –           Governor Ogun
  4. Abiola Ajimobi                 –           Governor Oyo
  5. Rauf Aregbesola              –           Governor Osun
  6. Arakunrin  Akeredolu    –           Governor Ondo
  7. Abdulfatah Ahmed         –           Governor Kwara
  8. Abdulazeez Yari               –           Governor Zamfara
  9. Godwin Obaseki              –          Governor Edo
  10. Yahaya Bello                      –          Governor Kogi
  11. Simon  Lalong                   –          Governor Plateau
  12. Kashim Shettima             –          Governor Borno
  13. Mohammed Umar Jibrilla -Governor Adamawa
  14. Mohammed  Abubakar –  Governor Jigawa
  15. Segun Oni
  16. Manir Dan-Ali                     –         Minister Defence
  17. Abdulrahman Dambazau  – Interior
  18. Bawa  Abubakar                –           State, Solid Minerals
  19. Ibe Kachikwu                     –           State, Petroleum
  20. Babatunde Fashola         –           Power, Works and Housing
  21. Rotimi Amaechi                 –          Transport
  22. Chris Ngige                          –           Labour
  23. Isaac Adewole                    –           Health
  24. Sola Adeyeye
  25. Tayo Alasaodura
  26. Andy Uba
  27. Rafiu Ibrahim
  28. Aliyu Wammako
  29. Abu Ibrahim
  30. Ben Uwajumogu
  31. Olubunmi Adetunmbi
  32. Tony Adeniyi
  33. Bamidele Faparusi
  34. Yusuf Lasun
  35. Aliyu Magaji
  36. Stephen Olemija
  37. Mike Ogun
  38. Otunba  Adebayo
  39. Yau Darazo
  40. Olurunnimbe Mamora
  41. Muiz Banire
  42. Faruk Adamu Aliyu
  43. Domingo Obende
  44. Ade Adetimehin
  45. Uche Ekwunife
  46. Ayo Afolabi
  47. Kemi Nelson
  48. Opeyemi Bamidele
  49. Mohammed Maihaja
  50. Omowunmi Edet
  51. Yemi Olowolabi
  52. Zacha Adelabu
  53. Sharon Ikeazor
  54. Hadiza  Usman
  55. Edwin Ikhinmwin
  56. Hubert Shaiyen
  57. Adejoke Adefolire
  58. Abike Dabiri-Erewa
  59. Kemi Adeosun
  60. Monsurat Sumonnu
  61. Binta Masi
  62. Fati Balla
  63. Okey Onyejekwe
  64. Ray Morphy
  65. Jibir Maigari
  66. Jabo Zarami
  67. Shina Peller
  68. Osita Izunaso
  69. Bolaji Abdullahi
  70. Ramatu  Aliyu
  71. Dasuki Ibrahim Jalo
  72. Pius Akinyelure
  73. Tajudeen Bello
  74. Awele Van Nwoko
  75. Yetunde Adeniji
  76. Toyin Edun
  77. Ali Wurge

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.