Ajimobi breaks Oyo second-term jinx, wins governorship election

Oyo State Governor, Abiola Ajimobi

The Oyo State governor, Abiola Ajimobi, has emerged winner of the gubernatorial election, breaking the second term jinx in the state.

Mr. Ajimobi of the All Progressives Congress defeated former governors Rasheed Ladoja of Accord Party and Alao Akala of the Labour Party; as well as a former senate leader, Teslim Folarin, of Peoples Democratic Party and the Social Democratic Party’s Seyi Makinde

The APC polled 327,310, Accord- 254,520, LP – 184,111, PDP – 79,019 and SDP- 54,740.

With his victory, Mr. Ajimobi will be the first Oyo State governor to be re-elected for a second term.

Former governors, Bola Ige, Lamidi Adesina, Mr. Ladoja and Mr. Akala all lost their re-election bids.
Meanwhile, in the House of Assembly elections, the APC won 14 seats, Accord Party – 11 while LP won seven to constitute the 32-man assembly.


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: Revealed!!! The Only Way Left of Getting an Extra Large Manhood and also Last Up to 38Mins+. Get the Insider Secret Here

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

  • otitokoro

    Congratulations to Gov Ajimobi. God is great in that he answered the citizens’ prayer.

  • bikky

    That is good,the one more is given more is expected,Ajimobi needs to work more and make industrialization of Oyo state an utmost priority and create good relationships with workers because civil service is the only economic backbone of Oyo state as at now.