Buhari defeats Jonathan in Oyo by over 200,000 votes

Oyo State Governor, Abiola Ajimobi

The presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, has been declared winner of the presidential elections in Oyo State.

Muhammadu Buhari polled 528, 620 votes to defeat President Goodluck Jonathan of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who polled 303,376 votes.

The official victory in of the opposition candidate in Oyo means the incumbent has only won in one of the South West States, Ekiti, while Mr. Buhari has won in Ogun, Ondo and Oyo. This is a departure from the 2011 presidential elections where Mr. Jonathan won in all South West states except Osun.

The results in Oyo were announced at the INEC state headquarters in Ibadan on Monday morning.

The total valid votes was 881,352 while rejected votes was 47,254. Total votes cast was 928,606 while total accredited voters was 1,073,849.

Read our live updates for breakdown of each local government in Oyo.


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: Revealed!!! The Only Way Left of Getting an Extra Large Manhood and also Last Up to 38Mins+. Get the Insider Secret Here

TEXT AD: This NAFDAC APPROVED Solution Will Make You Stay Longer Than 40Mins In Bed Tonight And Help Your Erection. Click Here To Read The Free Reports

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

  • tundemash

    So what hapened to all the money given to OPC, Yoruba Obas, Church Pastors and Afenifebi ????
    Ha! Dia is god O !

    • dareolu1

      Afenifebi!!!! 1 Million tungbaski for you there, imagine soldiers without badges been used in the south east states to rig elections, thank God for the impartial and sensible nature of the yoruba’s, is it a person that can imagine such evil, using soldiers without badges to rig an election that one should be expecting to lead us to our promise land, thank you jare, Afenifebi’s indeed, ibi ni won wa funwa, ori wa de ti ko, Jonathan, a leader every nation should pray against..

      • tundemash

        dareolu1 …. guess what ? God has blocked their plan through PVC. They can’t rig higher than the numbers of PVC collected. Unfortunately, when INEC was shouting for them to come and colelct their PVC, PDP instead of advising their e-rats to go and collect PVC, they were busy opposing the use of PVC and Jega and Nigerians had their way !
        . Bottom line: number of PVC in circulation in SS/SE isn’t enough to swing the vote when they come with their 98% voting population; the only place in the world where every registered voter votes !!!

  • Eze1

    What about all the phantom endorsements from Afenifere? Demand refund o

    • tundemash

      yes O ! Dumbo must demand refund from Afenifebi, OPC, Yoruba Obas and Ayo kanye west Oritsejafor. I support Dumbo fully on this.