Buhari wins presidential election in Ogun by over 100,000 votes

President Muhammadu Buhari during the Campaign prior to the 2015 Presidential election

The Independent National Electoral Commission,INEC, in Ogun State on Sunday night announced the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, as the winner of the poll in the state.

The State Collating Officer,Duro Oni, while announcing the results to journalists at about 9.00 p.m. at the commission’s headquarters in Abeokuta said of the total 559,613 votes cast, the APC candidate polled 308,290 to defeat President Goodluck Jonathan of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who scored 207,950.

The votes of other parties are: AA 584,AD 1927,ACPN 3072,ADC 1364,APA 1930,CPP 978,Hope 332,Kowa 432,NCP 815,UDP 562,PPN 4339 and UPP 597.

Mr. Oni, who is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor of University of Lagos, also disclosed that the total registered voters was 594,975,while total number of valid votes was 533,172 and number of rejected votes was 26,441.

The Collation Officer, accompanied by the State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Timothy Ibitoye, called on the party agents to sign the results, putting an end to the exercise.
From the breakdown of the results, the APC won in 13 local governments while PDP won in 7.

Read the breakdown of each local government in our live updates here:


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: Revealed!!! The Only Way Left of Getting an Extra Large Manhood and also Last Up to 38Mins+. Get the Insider Secret Here

TEXT AD: This NAFDAC APPROVED Solution Will Make You Stay Longer Than 40Mins In Bed Tonight And Help Your Erection. Click Here To Read The Free Reports

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

  • Gidi

    Sai Buhari! There is still a little good news for GEJ, despite suffering heavy defeat in Ogun State, he met 25% INEC requirement. Lets now move to Lagos, where Uncle Jonah will suffer another defeat.

    South West:
    Osun = APC
    Lagos = APC
    Ogun = APC
    Ondo = Too close to call
    Ekiti = PDP (APC got 40% of the vote)
    Oyo = APC* (We are expecting Ogbomosho’s result)


    Gwagwalada = APC
    Kwali = APC
    Kuje = PDP
    Bwari = ??
    AMAC = ??
    I will go ahead and call AMAC for APC given huge number of educated voters in the area

    With the route in SW, PDP has no path to ASO Rock…

    • progress

      PDP is dead all most all the senate and REPS seats are won by APC , BUHARI is winning all the critical states and will be declared winner soon.IJN