APGA appoints new national officers, endorses Obiano for second term

Gov. Obiano
Governor of Anambra state, Willie Obiano

The All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) has appointed five new national officers to replace those expelled in December 2016.

The party made this known in a communiqué issued at the end of its National Working Committee (NWC) meeting, in Awka on Friday.

An APGA NEC meeting had, in December, expelled seven members including Campbell Nzekwe, Ozo Nwabueze (late), Jerry Obasi, Ezinne Agbagwu, Chucks Nwoga, Terry Godfrey and Okey Okoloagwu.

Ifeatu Obi-Okoye, National Publicity Secretary of APGA who read the communiqué, said the five new officers were appointed in acting capacity pending their ratification by the National Executive Committee.

“Since nature abhors vacuum, the former members of the NWC that were expelled by the NEC meeting of Dec. 21, 2016 should be replaced.

“To this effect, five NWC members are appointed in acting capacity pending their ratification by the NEC.

“Those appointed are Mr Stephen Nwoga (Lagos), Deputy Organising Secretary, Mrs Elizabeth Nwokocha (Imo), Deputy Financial Secretary and Ms Ada Nwanyanwu (Imo) National Woman Leader.

“Others are Mr Chinedu Nebeife (Enugu) National Youth Leader and Mr Uche Nwegbo National Vice Chairman South East,” he said.

Mr. Obi-Okoye said the appointment was with immediate effect, while two remaining vacant national offices would be filled at a later date.

The APGA NWC also passed a vote of confidence on Gov. Willie Obiano of Anambra, saying he had recorded landmark achievements in several areas.

The NWC said that the achievements of Mr. Obiano include prompt and regular payment of workers’ salaries and pension.

According to the committee, the governor has also made the state one of the most secured in the country and the agricultural hub of West Africa.

They also commended Mr. Obiano for his efforts in road construction, rural electrification and for giving N20 million to each community in the state to execute projects of their choice.

“The NWC reaffirms and reiterates its unequivocal commitment to the re-election of Obiano, who has won several outstanding awards, for a second term in office in the Nov. 18 election in the state,” he said.

Meanwhile, the NWC also set up three committees as part of the party’s preparation for the November 18 gubernatorial election in Anambra.

The committees are: Election Strategy Committee, headed by Mike Kwentoh; APGA Electoral Guidelines for Primary Election Committee, headed by Ifeanyi Mbaeri and Party Membership Review Committee headed by Ibrahim Carefor.

The NWC also dispatched a delegation led by the National Chairman, Victor Oye to Abia and another delegation led by Samson Olalere to Lagos to resolve the party’s leadership crisis in both states. (NAN)

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.