Bayelsa LG Elections: One dead as PDP sweeps chairmanship positions

Governor Dickson of Bayelsa state.

A 200-Level student of Political Science at the Niger Delta University (NDU), Teller Francis, died during Bayelsa local council election on Saturday, an official confirmed on Sunday.

The Chairman, Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Commission (BYSIEC), Blessing Izagara, who confirmed the incident in Yenagoa, said Ms. Francis died while on election duties.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Ms. Francis, who was serving as an adhoc electoral staff, got drowned at the Akasa area when the boat she was in capsized.

Mr. Izagara however attributed the unfortunate incident to carelessness.

“The deceased refused to wear life jacket. Even when she was compelled to put on the jacket at a Nigerian Navy checkpoint, she removed it later, just before the mishap,’’ he said.

Announcing the results of the polls, the BYSIEC chairman said that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won the eight chairmanship positions in the state.

He said that the commission was however yet to release the results from the 105 wards for the councillor seats.

The result for the Brass local government (LG) chairmanship election show that   Obed Andi of PDP scored 37,464 votes while Milton of ANPP scored 473.

Peremote Orlando of CPC got 440, while Akimi Saturday of ADC secured 422 only.

In Ekeremo LG, Tobiye Billy of PDP scored 59,553 votes to win the chairmanship seat, while Pideke Franklin of ANPP got 275 and Agawa Park of CPC got 201.

For Kolokuma/Opokuma LG, Gbaranbiri Iselema of PDP won with 19,371 votes, while Boloyabi Patrick of ANPP scored 959 votes.

The results for Nembe LG showed that the PDP candidate, Emina Beneth, got 57,787 votes, Ibuami Jonathan of ACN 1,275 and Nyenyen Mathias of Accord Party 691 votes.

At Ogbia LG, there was no voting as Abbah Richard of PDP was declared winner unopposed.

In Sagbama LG, although there was no opposing candidate, Willy Jerry of PDP polled 56,737 as the electorate reportedly insisted on voting in absence of opposition.

In the Southern Ijaw LG, Remember Ogbe of PDP got 120,189 votes, Ghadafi Okiakpe of ACN 1,359 and Ikoyike Genesis of ANPP 1,167.

In Yenagoa LG, Ben Chubby of PDP won with 111,391 while Solomon Ossai of PPA polled 225.

The BYSIEC chairman said the commission was unable to conduct elections in Ward 4 at Brass LG.

He said the election would however be conducted within the next seven days in line with the Electoral Act


Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.