Akwa Ibom Assembly confirms 18 nominees as commissioners

Akwa Ibom State Governor, Udom Emmanuel

The Akwa Ibom House of Assembly on Wednesday confirmed 18 commissioner nominees and two Special Advisers as requested by Governor Udom Emmanuel.

The confirmation of the nominees followed their screening by the committee of the whole.

The House Leader, Udo Akpan, moved a motion for their confirmation and Aniekan Bassey (PDP-Uruan) seconded the motion.

The new commissioners are Paul Udofia, Ime Ekpo, Nse Essien, Eno Ikpe, Idoroenyin Udo and Nsikan Nkan.

The others are Uduak Udoinyang, Charles Udo, Orman Esin, Iniobong Essien, Dominic Ukpong, Uwemidimo Nwoko and Victor Antai.

The rest are Monday Uko, Glory Edet, Udoh Ekpenyong, Akan Okon as well as Ephraim Inyang.

The new Special Advisers are Ekong Sampson and Ekemini Umoh.

The Speaker of the House, Onofiok Luke, said that the nominees during the screening exhibited high level of intelligence and responsibility.

Mr. Luke therefore urged the commissioners-designate to help the governor in his endeavour to build a strong state.

He noted that the times demanded some sacrifice from all the new commissioners.

The Speaker also urged them to work with the permanent secretaries for effective service delivery to the people.

The News Agency of Nigeria, NAN, reports that Mr. Emmanuel dissolved the former state executive council on October 15.

The governor forwarded the list of 18 nominees and two special advisers on November 25, made up of nine old executive members and 11 new ones to the assembly for confirmation.



Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.