PDP wins 13 of 24 Bayelsa Assembly seats​

PDP Manifesto word cloud

The Peoples Democratic Party has won 13 out of the 14 state House of Assembly seats in Bayelsa, according to results released so far.

Elections into 10 other constituencies are outstanding.

In the summary of results signed by the INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Baritor Kpagih, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Israel Goli, won the 14th seat, Brass Constituency.

Mr. Goli defeated the PDP candidate and incumbent Deputy Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Sam Ateki.

The PDP candidates who won include the current Speaker of the House, Konbowei Benson, Southern Ijaw 4.

Others are: Abraham Ingobere,Brass Constituency 3; Ololo Ben, Nembe Constituency 1; Ingo Iwowari, Nembe Costituency 2; Obiene Iniyobiyo , Nembe Constituency 3; Mitema Obodor, Ogbia Constituency 1; Naomi Ogoli, Ogbia Constituency 2; Salo Adikumo, Sagbama Constituency 3; Monday Obolo, Southern Ijaw 2; Daniel Igali, Southern Ijaw 3; Parkinson Markmanuel, Yenagoa 1; Ebiuwou Obiyai, Yenagoa 2; and Gentle Emelah, Yenagoa 3.

There was however no election in Brass Constituency 2 due to the insistence of some youth to see the ward collation results sheets before accreditation.

Meanwhile, the election in Ogbia Constituency 2 was declared inconclusive.

Elections in eight out of the 24 constituencies in the state were rescheduled by a week due to shortage of ballot papers.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.