Jega heads committee on revival of education in Sokoto, Kebbi, Zamfara

A former chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has been appointed to head an advisory committee to help revive the educational sector in Sokoto, Kebbi and Zamfara states of North-West Nigeria.

Mr. Jega, who heads from Kebbi State, will work with six other professors from the zone and will advise governors of the three states on how to fix the myriad of problems facing the sector, especially at the tertiary education level.

Presenting a report of the committee Saturday night in Sokoto to Governors Aminu Tambuwal, Abdulaziz Yari and Abubakar Bagudu of Sokoto, Zamfara and Kebbi respectively, Mr. Jega said time has come for all stakeholders in the three states to close rank and collectively face the challenges together.

He said that there was the need to reposition institutions of higher learning in the three states that made up the old Sokoto State to enable them operate according to their core mandates.

Mr. Jega among other recommendations stressed the need for improved funding of the institutions, reinvigorated training and promotion of exchange programmes among institutions in the three states.

The committee also advised the three states to establish a joint Education Tax Fund in the mould of the Federal Government-funded TETFUND and revive the former remedial school to be established in one of the states to prepare students for higher studies.

Receiving the report on behalf of his colleagues, Governor Yari said even though Sokoto had already declared a state of emergency in education, both Zamfara and Kebbi will follow suit.

He said that the three governors would liaise with their various state Houses of Assembly and Commissioners of Justice to review the laws that established the institutions.

“We will pass the recommendations to the Attorney-Generals to look into them, with a view to review these laws. We will also strive to formulate all the requisite policies to make these higher educational institutions function effectively.

“We will also allocate nothing less than 35 per cent of our annual budgets to the education sector,” he added.

The five other members of the committee include former Vice Chancellors of Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, Riskuwa Shehu and Tijjani Bande. Others are Zayyanu Umar, Lawal Bilbis and Umar Chafe.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.