2015: Yero defeats Aziz in Kaduna PDP gubernatorial primary

The incumbent Kaduna State Governor, Mukhtar Yero, has been declared winner of the state governorship primary election of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Declaring the result of the contest, the chairman of the PDP governorship primary election panel in the state, Steve Oruh, said Mr. Yero polled 970 votes to defeat a Senator, Haruna Zego, who got only one vote.

Three aspirants had earlier withdrawn from the contest at the commencement of the primary. Mr. Oruh announced the withdrawal of Ajie Bako, Lawal Yakawada and Felix Hyet.

The election, which was held at the Murtala Square Kaduna, was attended by the Nigerian Vice President, Namadi Sambo, the state Deputy Governor, Nuhu Bajoga, as well as two Senators, Ahmed Makarfi and Nenadi Usman, who lost her own seat at the party’s senatorial primaries, among other party stalwarts.

Mr. Oruh declared that a total of 972 delegates voted with Mr. Yero polling 970.

In his acceptance speech, Governor Yero called on all aspirants that contested the election to join hands in ensuring that the PDP wins the general election in 2015.

“I thank all the three aspirants that contested in the election, especially Commodore Ajie, Lawal Samaila Yakawada and Felix Hyet that withdrew and I also thank Senator Aziz and call on them to join me in ensuring victory in all elections in 2015 for the party,” he said.

It would now be a fierce face-off between the former minister of the FCT, Nasir El-Rufai, who won the All Progressives Congress governorship ticket and Mr. Yero in 2015.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.