Nasarawa Assembly approves three years tenure for elected LG officials

Nasarawa State
Nasarawa State

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly has passed the Local Government Bill 2018 which approved three years tenure for elected local government officials to strengthen democracy at the grassroots.

Ibrahim Abdullahi, Speaker of the Assembly, announced passage of the bill for a law to provide for the Establishment, Structure, Composition, Finance and Function of Local Government System in Nasarawa State, 2018.

The speaker announced passage of the bill after the majority leader of the Assembly, Tanko Tunga (APC-Awe North), moved a motion for passage of the bill during plenary in Lafia on Wednesday.

Mr Abdullahi said that approving three years tenure for elected local government officials would deepen democracy and bring the much needed development to the grassroots.

“The executive bill seeks to amend the Nasarawa State Local Government Law 2009, which deals with establishment, structure, finances and composition of local government system in Nasarawa state.

“No doubt, the bill was brought basically to strengthen and deepen democracy at the local government levels in Nasarawa State and to meet the current political and economic challenges.

“Today, the House has approved three years tenure for elected local government officials and there should be overseers to run the affairs of the Development Areas in the state in which their tenure is also for three years.

“The overseers of Development Areas shall be appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation of House of Assembly of the state and their tenure may be extended or reconstituted by the governor upon confirmation of the House of Assembly,” he said.

The speaker said that the law also makes provision that the clerk and deputy clerk to be appointed from the service of local government, shall not be below grade level 12 and 10 respectively.

Earlier, Tanko Tunga, the Majority Leader of the Assembly, moved a motion for the passage of the bill while the Minority Leader, Peter Mbucho, seconded the motion before it was unanimously passed by the lawmakers.

The speaker directed the clerk of the Assembly to produce a clean copy of the bill for governor’s assent.

NAN reports that the Nasarawa State Local Government Law 2009 made provision for only two years tenure for elected local government officials.

NAN also reports that the state Independent Electoral Commission (NASIEC) has slated May 26 for the conduct of the local government election in the state.


Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.