Plateau governor swears in 17 commissioners

The Plateau State governor, Simon Lalong, on Friday swore in 17 commissioners for the 17 ministries in the state.

The deputy governor, Sonni Tyoden, is to oversee Ministry of Higher Education.

Mr. Lalong urged Mr. Tyoden, a professor, to use his wealth of experience as former vice chancellor, University of Jos, to assist in the development of higher education in the state.

The governor advised the commissioners to consider themselves as servant-leaders who would serve selflessly, diligently and faithfully with the fear of God.

“As you come on board as commissioners and members of State Executive Council, you are first in line as policy formulators and co-drivers of these policies in various ministries assigned to you.

“The responsibility is not about glamour of office, but of absolute responsibility in terms of exercising political, economic and social authority for the welfare of the people,” he said.

Mr. Lalong warned that there would be no place for idleness, laxity and unproductive ventures.

He urged commissioners to be prudent and device cogent ways to avoid waste of resources as well as fight corruption – the hallmark of the change mantra.

The commissioners include Joseph Mariga, who will head Ministry of Education, Science and Technology and Secondary Education; Hitler Dadi, a former Chairman of Langtang South, will take charge of Ministry of Special Duties.

Festus Fuanter, APC spokesperson in Plateau, is to serve as commissioner for Lands, Survey and Town Planning; Kunden Deyin for Health; and Lynda Barau, Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Others are Mwankon John, Culture, Tourism and Hospitality; Jonathan Mawiyau, Justice; Samuel Galadima, Housing and Urban Development; Pam Dongs, Works and Transport.

Others are Dayyabu Garga, Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs; Tamwakat Weli, Finance; and Ja’afaru Wuyep, Water Resources.

Nafiz Ahmed will head the Ministry of Information and Communication; Rofina Gurumyen, Women Affairs and Social Development; and Danladi Mann, Youth and Sports Development.

The rest are Garba Abbas, Environment and Mineral Development; and Ezekiel Daju, Commerce and Industries.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.