‎APC, PDP, four others battle for Taraba Assembly seat

Taraba on map

All is set for today’s election to fill a a vacant seat in the Taraba House of Assembly.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has said six political parties will compete for the bye-election to fill the Ardo Kola state constituency seat.

INEC’s Resident Commissioner in Adamawa who was deployed to conduct the election, Kassim Gaidam, announced this.

He asked residents to discard any rumour that the election had been postponed.

“I want to confirm to you that the election will hold as earlier scheduled this Saturday January 13.

“People should disregard the purported rumour being peddled by some politicians that the election is postponed.

“All is set for the election this Saturday,’’ said the INEC commissioner.

He urged voters in the constituency to turn up with their Permanent Voters’ Card to vote at the polling units where they registered.

The candidates vying for the election, according to the commission, include Patrick Kini of Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN); Sanusi Usman, All Progressives Congress (APC); and Abdulshafa’at Dame, Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA).

Others are Tukur Jibril, Democratic People’s Party (DPP); Dominic Bukumi, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); and Sajo Mohammed, Social Democratic Party (SDP).

The Ardo Kola state constituency seat became vacant following the death of the member representing the constituency, Emmanuel Dame, in November 2017.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.