APC wins Yobe federal constituency by-election

Yobe on map
Yobe on map

The All Progressives Congress, APC, has won the Damaturu/Tarmuwa/Gujba/Gulani federal constituency by-election in Yobe.

The Returning Officer of the election, Sunday Alao, on Saturday in Damaturu declared APC candidate, Abdullahi Kukuwa, the winner.

Mr. Kukuwa scored 23,745 votes to defeat Nasiru Hassan of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, who polled 6,990 votes to emerge second.

Adamu Dina of the Advance Congress for Democracy, ACD, scored 163 votes while Jibrin Ladan of the National Conscience Party, NCP, scored 139 votes.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the election was conducted on Saturday to replace Khadija Bukar, who was appointed minister in the federal cabinet.

Zannah Ibrahim, Yobe Commissioner of Police said there was no violence recorded in any of the four participating local government areas.

Yobe is, however, set to head for another by- election as Mr. Kukuwa currently represents Gulani constituency in the state assembly, a position that will now be vacant once he is sworn in as a federal lawmaker.



Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.