PDP’s Governor Dankwambo in clear lead as INEC releases Gombe results

The candidate of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party and incumbent governor of Gombe State, Ibrahim Dankwambo, has won re-election in the state after the Independent National Electoral Commission released results from 10 local governments.

Governorship and state assembly election held on Saturday across the state.

Gombe has 11 local government areas and so far, results for Funakaye, Kwami, Gombe, Shongom, Dukku, Billiri, Kaltungo, Nafada, Yamaltu Deba and Akko LGAs have been released, while only results from Balanga local government is being awaited.

Announcing the results Sunday at the Indoor Sports Hall, Gombe, the state Returning Officer, Saminu Ibrahim, the Vice Chancellor of the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi, said the PDP won majority votes in nine out of the 10 local governments. It lost only in Gombe local government to the opposition All Progressives Congress.

The APC candidate is Inuwa Yahaya, a former commissioner of Finance during the administration of former governor, Danjuma Goje.

Below are the details of the results announced so far:

1. Funakaye: APC 18,09, PDP 21,210

2. Kwami APC 17,43, PDP 22,014

3. Gombe APC 33,062 PDP 27061

4. Shongom APC 9409 PDP 14,571

5. Dukku APC 12,543 PDP 22,326

6. Billiri APC 10,448 PDP 30,332

7. Kaltungo APC 10,448 PDP 26,209

8. Nafada APC 6,721 PDP 15,408

9. Yamaltu Deba APC 30695 PDP 33,488

10. Akko APC 30336 PDP 43,066

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.