FCT Area Council Poll: PDP wins three councils, ANPP one, Kwali, Abaji outstanding

Voters on queue...

Results of four of the six area councils have been released in Saturday’s council elections in the Federal Capital Territory.

The ruling Peoples Democratic Party won three while the opposition All Nigeria Peoples Party won one.

The result of Kwali and Abaji Area Councils are still outstanding.

Find details of the results below.

Kuje Area Council

Ishaku Shaban of the PDP was declared winner of Kuje Area Council Chairmanship poll in the FCT, with 16,800 votes.

He defeated Mr Isaac Kaura of ACN who scored 58 votes, Abdulahi Sabo of ANPP, 5,994; Eke Uche of APGA, 38; Baba Usman of CPC, 285; Dantala Lanbata of PPA 37 and Mohammed Umar of SDNP, 7.

Sunday Ejaro, the Returning Officer of FCT Independent Electoral Commission, announced the result in Kuje.

Gwagwalada Area Council

Abubakar Jibrin of ANPP has won the chairmanship election in GwaGwalada Area Council of the FCT.

Jibrin polled 11,596 to beat Mr Adamu Mustapha (PDP) who scored 11,502 votes.

Clement Chup, the Returning Officer, who declared the results, said a total of 27,547 votes were cast, 1,615 rejected and 25,932 valid

Abuja Municipal Area Council

Mika Jiba of PDP was declared winner of the FCT chairmanship election for Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC).

The Returning Officer of the electoral commission for AMAC, Yusuf Zoaka, who announced the results, said the PDP candidate polled 16,841 votes out of 30,840.

CPC’s Adamu Abdulahi came second with 7,055 while ACN’s Alhaji Tanko Yamawo and ANPP’s Chukwuemeka Peter got 2,527 and 1,208 votes respectively.

Voting took place in all the 12 wards in AMAC.

Bwari Area Council
Peter Yohanna (PDP), the incumbent Chairman of Bwari Area Council, was re-elected for a second term of office with 9,881 votes.

Yaksat Bulus, the Returning Officer for the FCT Independent Electoral Commission, announced the result of the council’s election on Sunday in Bwari.

Mr. Bulus said Musa Dikko of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) scored 8,051 votes.

“PDP lead in seven wards of the council while CPC lead in three wards for the chairmanship and councillorship election.”

The election was peaceful in all the 10 wards of the council, although voters complained of poor publicity about it.

Bwari Area Council has 99 polling units with 10 wards in Kuduru, Dutse, Kubwa, Shere, Kawu, Byazhin, Usuma, Ushafa, Igu and Bwari Central.



Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.