Nasarawa Majority Leader, 12 others win PDP primaries

The Majority Leader of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly, Godiya Akwashiki, and 12 other serving lawmakers have won their party’s ticket to re-contest their seats in the 2015 general elections.

The 13 lawmakers, members of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, were among the 23 persons who won primaries to emerge PDP House of Assembly candidates for next year’s elections.

Seven of the lawmakers: Mohammed Okpede, Doma North constituency; Yahaya Usman, Umaisha constituency; Ada Goje Toto, Gadabuke constituency; Aliyu Umar, Awe North constituency; Abdulkarim Usman, Wamba Constituency; Godiya Akwashiki, Eggon East; and Raphael Saka of Kokona east constituency were returned unopposed.

Declaring the result at the state party secretariat in Lafia, the state capital, the chairman of the electoral committee, Aliyu Sani, announced the other lawmakers who won their primaries as Peter Umbucho, Akwanga north; Bulus Chetubo, Karu –Gitata; Aga Muluku, Eggon East; and Baba Ibaku of Udege-loko constituency.

Others are Anthony Obande of Doma south constituency and Tahir Alayi of Karshi Uke constituency.

Mr. Sani said the primaries were conducted without hitches and that a run-off election will be conducted in Keana constituency because two candidates scored same votes.

“Primary elections have been conducted and results have been submitted,” he said. “I am very pleased to say that the exercise was very smooth without any rancour, there was no problem and results have reached us”.

“We have 23 results and the 24th which is Keana constituency where there is a tie because two candidates, Orogu Francis and Sanusi Abdul, both scored 29 votes each.

“And according to the laid down regulations of our party, in such situation a rerun will be conducted so we are going to recommend a run-off election within the week”.

One serving lawmaker, Agyo Mesa, representing Lafia North, who decamped from the All Progressives Congress, APC, to the PDP lost to a new entrant, Mohammed Alkali. Winners were also announced for the other constituencies to represent the party in the elections.

The PDP Chairman in Nasarawa, Yunana Iliya, also expressed satisfaction with the outcome of the primaries.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.