UPDATED: Ogun explains exclusion of Obasanjo's name from voter register as ACN sweeps LG polls

The Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) has been declared winner of 19 of the 20 local government chairmanship elections conducted in Ogun State, on Saturday.

The Chairperson of Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC), Risikat Ogunfemi, while announcing the result, stated that the result for the remaining one local government, Imeko-Afon, was withheld; based on a court order obtained by the chairmanship candidate of the Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN).

The PPN candidate had challenged his exclusion from the polls, and the electoral body’s chairperson explained that the Local Government’s result would be withheld until the final determination of the suit.

A breakdown of the result shows that apart from winning all the announced results for the chairmanship position of Local Governments, the ACN also dominated in other elective positions.

The party won 217 councillorship positions; the Peoples Democratic Party won 10, while the PPN won one seat. The results of 10 councils were also withheld based on the court order.

The newly elected chairmen and councilors are expected to be sworn in this week.

Blame INEC for Obasanjo’s exclusion

The OGSIEC has also reacted to the omission of the name of former President Olusegun Obasanjo from the voters register used for Saturday’s election.

The commission, through the chairman of its screening committee, Mutiu Agboke, explained that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) was responsible for omitting the former President’s name.

“We approached INEC before the election and they gave us all the voters register we used,” Mr. Agbeke stated while explaining that any omission in the register was the fault of the national body.



Read our earlier post below

ACN leads in Ogun LG poll

With the result of 11 out of 20 local governments released, the Action Congress of Nigeria is enjoying an unassailable lead in Saturday’s local government election in the state.

The results are being released in batches but as at 2.30 p.m, the ruling ACN has won 11 chairmanship seats and most of the councillorship slots.

Dangote adbanner 728x90_2 (1)

The Peoples Democratic Party was able to win only one councillorship slot.

So far released are results of the election for Ijebu North-East, Ijebu North, Egbado North, Egbado South, Ogun Waterside, Ewekoro, Ifo, Ikenne, Remo North, Ijebu-Ode and Obafemi-Owode.

Hordes of journalists are waiting at the electoral commission’s office in Oke-Ilewo, Abeokuta, for the remaining results.


Coronavirus factsheet


PT Mag Campaign AD

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401...

BE THE FIRST TO KNOW! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application