Governors' Forum plans legal action against FG over fuel subsidy deduction

The Nigeria Governors` Forum (NGF) has said that it will take legal action against the Federal Government for deductions from the Federation Account to offset fuel subsidy payment.

This was part of resolutions the group reached at its meeting, which ended early on Thursday in Abuja.
In a communiqué read  by its Chairman, Gov. Chibuike Amaechi, the group said it took the decision after long deliberations.
“The forum deliberated extensively on the continuing illegal deductions from the Federation Account towards offsetting oil subsidy, excess crude by the Federal Government and unanimously resolved to go to court to seek legal redress,” the communiqué said.
The forum sympathised, particularly with the government of Plateau on the recent loss of lives and property in the state and condemned the recurring insecurity in the country.
It appealed to the Federal Government to urgently commence the recruitment, intensive training and proper deployment of security agents across the country.
The forum also called on customs and immigration services to tighten security at the borders to prevent hoodlums from gaining entry into the country.
The group further resolved to constitute an economic and security intervention committee with membership from Rivers, Bayelsa, Ekiti, Abia, Plateau, Adamawa and Zamfara states.
It also expressed a willingness to meet with President Goodluck Jonathan on emergency intervention plan focusing initially on agriculture and other economic generating programmes for employment generation in northern states.
The forum had at its meeting on April 5, criticised the continued deduction of oil subsidy from the Federation’s Account.
It described the deduction as unconstitutional and negation of the principle of federalism and budgetary provision.
The forum, modelled after the American Governors` Association (AGA), is an umbrella body of the 36 elected governors of the federation irrespective of party affiliation.
The meeting was attended by governors of Ekiti, Ondo, Anambra, Kogi, Lagos, Katsina, Gombe, Zamfara, Kebbi, Taraba, Enugu, Rivers, Jigawa, Delta, Plateau, Ondo, Abia, Eboyin and Bayelsa states.
Other governors who attended the meeting are  those of Benue and Borno while Kano, Nassarawa, Niger, Kwara, Yobe and Ogun, were represented by their deputies. 


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application


All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.