Tom Ikimi dumps APC, attacks Tinubu

Tom Ikimi

A former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Tom Ikimi, on Tuesday resigned from the All Progressives Congress [APC].

He did not however indicated the party he was defecting to although there were speculations that he was on his way to the ruling Peoples Democratic Party [PDP].

In a letter to the National Chairman of the APC, John Odigie-Oyegun, dated August 26, Mr. Ikimi said he had already issued a statement released earlier in the day in which he stated his withdrawal from the opposition party.

The letter reads in part: “Thank you for your two letters dated 15th August, 2014, one inviting me to attend the APC National Caucus and the other to attend the APC Board of Trustees meeting.
“I regret my inability to attend both meetings.

“However kindly find forwarded to you herewith my statement released today bearing the title, ” All Progressives Congress, (APC)- My Reflections” and wish to particularly draw your attention to the last paragraph of the document stating the withdrawal of my membership from the party- APC.

“This is to further confirm my decision to withdraw from the All Progressives Congress from today.

“Kindly extend to all members of the party my warmest felicitations.”

Mr. Ikimi was a member of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, which merged with the Congress for Progressive Change [CPC], the All Nigeria Peoples Party [ANPP], and a section of the All Progressives Grand Alliance [APGA], to become the APC.

He hosted the meetings of the Joint Inter-Party Merger Committee that supervised the merger in his Abuja home and aspired to become the first national chairman of the party at the party convention in June, but was allegedly checkmated by some leaders of the party, including former Lagos State Governor, Bola Tinubu, who supported Mr. Odigie-Oyegun.

In anger, he did not only boycott the convention, but he also issued a press statement a few days later accusing Mr. Tinubu of hijacking the party and described the convention that produced Mr. Odigie-Oyegun as a charade.

He said, “The party’s governors colluded with Tinubu to truncate democratic process in the national convention. The governors and the Tinubu group decided on a zoning process that was limited only to party offices as well as the choice of individuals to fill them. Most undemocratic and bizarre procedures then prevailed.

“The governors initiated a zoning plan that allocated the national chairman to the south-south. This proposal was reluctantly accepted by Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, whose well-known option had been to retain Chief Bisi Akande as the chairman forever.

“Nevertheless he, in the circumstance, proceeded to draw up a list of his cronies for the entire national executives all referred to the national interim executive council for approval or even information.”

Mr. Ikimi, who is from Edo State as Mr. Odigie-Oyegun lambasted the former Lagos State governor for parading himself as the national leader of the APC, saying nobody gave him the position.

Since he made his grudge against the party open, the former minister under the military administration of Sani Abacha had come under pressure to return to the PDP.

At the inception of the current democratic dispensation in 1999, Mr. Ikimi was a member of the defunct All Peoples Party, APP, which later became ANPP.

In the botched Third Republic, he served as the first national chairman of the defunct National Republican Convention, NRC, created by the administration of the military of administration of Ibrahim Babangida during the endless and deceptive transition programme.

Find below the lengthy statement released by Mr. Ikimi on Tuesday castigating Mr. Tinubu.

“All Progressives Congress APC – My Reflections

Following my widely publicized statement made in the aftermath of the 13th June 2014 All Progressives Congress APC National Convention I took time off to reflect on the state of the party, the emerging re-configuration of the general political Structure in the country, and the visionary effects on the state of our Nation.

I have spent almost 13 of the past 15 years faithfully dug in, in the trenches of the evolving democratic dispensations in our country, steadfastly pursuing my conviction that for true democracy to take firm root in Nigeria we should fall in line with the model practiced in successful democracies in the world, of a party in office and a scrutinizing alternative party holding the Government to account. We all have watched with admiration how in those other countries through a process of hitch-free General Elections, the baton of leadership changes hands from time to time from one Party to the other to provide alternative policies for their people. Therefore I have never considered my location outside the ruling party, as being in an “opposition”, rather as supporting an alternative platform. All that was necessary for me was the association with individuals committed to build and uphold that platform. In this regard, my experiences during the era of the NRC and SDP in 1990 -1993 are invaluable reference data bank in my quest to work to reincarnate the reality of two dominant political platforms in our country.

That is why in 2005, I was fully involved in the creation of the Movement for the Restoration and Defense of Democracy (MRDD), which transformed into the Action Congress (AC) in 2006. I worked with a few dedicated colleagues here in my Abuja residence to successfully achieve the project. Two groups, comprising those of us who broke away from the PDP and a breakaway faction from the AD (notably the former South West AD Governors) made up the foundation membership. For the benefit of political science students, I should now reveal that the original documents we prepared for registration bore the name All Peoples Congress (APC) We eventually settled for AC in order to locate the new party higher up in the ballot paper. In 2010, in pursuit of a bigger party ahead of the 2011 General Election, we changed the name from AC to ACN, in a very poorly constructed merger arrangement that failed. It was therefore an experience of great joy and satisfaction for me to host and lead the process that gave birth in February 2013, at my Abuja residence, to the All Progressives Congress (APC) with the successful unification of the major opposition parties – ACN, ANPP, CPC and a part of APGA. I am aware of the well known saying that success breeds many uncles, therefore the subsequent and recent claims of some persons as to the arrow heads of the creation of the APC does not surprise me nor will it surprise my devoted 89 colleagues who worked earnestly with me on the project.

The refreshing news of the entry of the All Progressives Congress (APC) into the Nation’s political firmament was received across the nation and beyond with great joy and happiness. Our proclamation of a new party that would pursue democratic principles by example with particularly a culture of internal Party Democracy endeared us to the expectant public of teeming supporters who were all eagerly waiting to take up membership in the new party. For me, I thought we had finally broken the parochial boundaries of tribal and regional politics, which in my recent experience had stunted the growth of the now defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN). Our clarion call for CHANGE reverberated across the country where all and sundry awaited with high expectation to enroll in the new party. I myself looked forward eagerly to a wider frontier of comradeship and to once again recreate happiness color and pageantry in our National Politics which in times gone by was so eloquently displayed in the legendary brotherly hand shake across the river Niger and river Benue by the founding fathers of our Nation’s politics.

It was my fervent hope that the emergence of the APC would bring to an end the sad and bitter experiences that I and some others endured in the ACN where one of the leaders from the South West exploiting the narrow National success of the party in that region virtually hijacked the party, proclaiming himself Overall Leader. Five of the six Governors in the Party at that time were all from that Region. Prominent leaders particularly from the North and South East notably, personalities such as former Vice President Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, late Alhaji Abubakar Rimi, Alhaji Gali Naaba, Alhaji Lawal Kaita, Alhaji Mohammed Shata, Amb. Yahaya Kwande, Senator Iyorchia Ayu, Otumba Fashawe, Senator Ben Obi, Chief Dubem Onyia etc who could not come to terms with the man’s behavior departed from the party back to the PDP. This mass departure of prominent members, from particular sections of the country, did not only seriously weaken the party but blemished it with an image of Regional and Tribal status. At that time I refused to quit the party despite the fact that my frequent solo protests against his behavior were dismissively ignored as I was always told that the man was the overwhelming financier of the Party. While I disagree stoutly with this bluff it is true that the particular individual constantly boasted of his wealth and of his funding of the party. I on the other hand could recall that this was a man I knew who was an easily forgettable character in the 1990s when I was National Party Chairman and when my candidate Sir Michael Otedola of blessed memory, won the Governorship of Lagos State. It would come as no great surprise if Asiwaju Bola Tinubu’s boasted great wealth did not derive from any stupendous inheritance ancient or modern. Or that his sudden bragging as though Nigeria’s Bill Gates is an accumulation of extraordinary hard work or financial wizardry. I would rather trust the informed whispers in the inner circles of the party which have it that having positioned himself as perceived leader in the most lucrative income sources of the party, he is recipient and dispenser of bags and bags of party funds. I have also become aware that he is, too, a beneficiary of most of the lucrative contracts in all the ACN states without exception. To further bolster his image it was also frequently said that Tinubu has control of all the votes from South Western Nigeria which, as has been currently touted, when added to the votes of North Western Nigeria would guarantee victory for the APC in the upcoming Presidential election.

This reckless and arrogant self-aggrandizement paved the way for the imposition of a strange leadership on the APC in July 2013 when the party obtained registration from INEC. Those of us who had worked so hard towards the successful merger and creation of the APC were manipulated out of the scheme of things. In the bizarre struggle to seize control of the party we were even openly accused by the self-proclaimed owners of the party, of wanting to steal “their” party. Many of us in the party as well as keen observers outside frowned at the skewed leadership image of the party that was being paraded. An image that blatantly ignored National sensitivities. The draft constitution prepared by the Merger Committee included an exit clause, which provided a time limit of six months for the Interim Management of the Party. That clause mysteriously disappeared from the version of the constitution that was smuggled into INEC records. Chief Bisi Akande’s National Chairmanship was therefore primed to stay on in power ad infinitum! Asiwaju Bola Tinubu frantically constituted a group of friends and cronies which he proclaimed to be the APC Leadership. The press, led by the Nation Newspaper, was made to propagate the aberration. And so rather than allow the construction of a sound base for the party conducive to the free admission of members Nationwide these self proclaimed leaders embarked on a National travel spree all in a blaze of publicity, criss-crossing the country in private aircraft, visiting PDP State Governors to offer them the State branches of the APC if they would join the party. While they obviously but ridiculously assumed that the crisis then in the PDP would last for ever the details of the agreements they reached with PDP break away Governors, were never revealed to the authentic Party Leadership but they were such that they ignited the explosion of irreconcilable crisis in some states, particularly Kano, Sokoto and Adamawa, resulting in the instant loss of some valuable key members.
Major decisions said to be party decisions now started emerging from this select group whose ad hoc membership varied from time to time. They usually congregated at Tinubu’s private parlor in his Asokoro – Abuja residence. Those who wanted to belong had to find or force their way into that parlor. Once initiated, your independence or capacity to challenge the plots that emerged from that cult venue became seriously curtailed. Rather than freely open up critical issues to free debate at the Interim Executive Council for democratic decisions to emerge, positions plotted at the notorious Asokoro parlor were being desperately foisted on the party for execution. A handful of us constantly challenged this trend with little success. Gradually, the direction of the Party assumed a focus on the contest for the Presidency. Then the images of presumed Presidential and Vice Presidential candidates as well as a privately cooked up Permanent Chairman for the party started emerging signaling a Muslim/Muslim Presidential and Vice Presidential ticket. The details of this issue I have sufficiently dealt with in my previous statement. However let me state again that their calculation that the Presidency in the 2015 General elections will be won by the APC through votes from the North West and South West Nigeria became an obsession. Asiwaju Bola Tinubu who passionately believed in this theory and who arrogantly claimed custody of all South West votes already picked an aspirant from North Western Nigeria who will run as Presidential candidate with him as Vice Presidential candidate. The National image of the party immediately plummeted.

This disastrous trend was worsened by the arrogant departure from observing the provisions of the Party’s constitution particularly as it pertains to internal Party democracy. Crisis broke out at uncontrollable levels in the prosecution of the most undemocratic Ward, LGA, and State Congresses Nationwide. Machinery for managing this self-inflicted crisis was virtually non-existent and it was inside this mess that the controversial National Convention of 13th June was staged. The Constitution of the Party clearly defines the Party Organs and the Party Leadership. There is no provision for anyone to be named as the Party Leader. Asiwaju Bola Tinubu having paraded himself both at home and abroad as The Leader of Opposition and of the APC had great difficulty in descending from the fictitious throne. In order to continue manipulating the party from his parlors in Abuja and Lagos he struggled to retain Chief Bisi Akande as Chairman. He was further troubled by the growing influence of the Governors and panicked at the realization that he and his South West select caucus were loosing their grip on “their” party to the Governors. His last minute efforts to rally a South West Leadership support for his absolute power over the party failed and chances of retaining Chief Bisi Akande as National Chairman also evaporated. In the circumstance as the only option was to find a successor National Chairman as well as other National Officers, an illegal process of horse trading between the Governors and Tinubu was initiated. The Interim Executive Council had no knowledge of all these processes. Chief John Oyegun a Tinubu plan B project said to be favored for his NADECO and SDP credentials and also as one who could be controlled now featured, came into the picture.

Until recently the APC had 16 Governors who describe themselves as The Progressive Governors. They are made up of the original Merging Parties Governors and the break away PDP Governors who as a group are determined to take control of the Party. This composition of Merging Party Governors and PDP breakaway Governors cannot in any realistic sense be described as PROGRESSIVE. They have come together with different personal agendas built around the central purpose of acquiring National Power. Some of them nurse Vice Presidential ambition and some others are warming up for the Presidential contest. In the circumstance the project of taking control of the Party’s National machinery became crucial and it was out of the Governor’s caucus that the plan of zoning the National offices was initiated and concluded. The Interim Executive Committee had no input. Although it is claimed that the National Chairmanship slot was zoned to the South South, the horse-trading to produce the beneficiary took place outside the zone. In order to secure the agreement of most of the Governors I understand that an agreement was extracted from Chief Oyegun that he would agree to step down as Chairman should a Governor from the region emerge as either Presidential or Vice Presidential candidate. And although the Governors may not have envisaged the present set back they now suffer in their numerical strength the battle to take custody of the APC platform that they waged against the Tinubu structure signaled yet another twist in the tale.

Apart from the Tinubu Group and The Governors Group there is a third Group, of known Presidential Aspirants comprising in the main General Muhamadu Buhari and Alhaji Atiku Abubakar who are both Northerners. The inclination of the party had always been to zone the Presidency to the North. Some Governors are now thinking otherwise and given the decisive role that they seek to play in the affairs of the Party as well as the tendency to ignore the principle of internal party democracy, a monumental disaster looms large in the selection of the Party’s Presidential and Vice Presidential flag bearers later in the year. The construction of the new National Executive Committee through horse-trading by the Governors and Tinubu has established a tool structure that is not in the interest of transparency or democracy. To whom will the newly installed National Chairman be finally loyal? Will it remain the Nadeco/SDP comradeship that will drive his loyalty to Tinubu or the current Governors ongoing tactics of dressing up the National Chairman that may become the game clincher? Time will surely tell! How these known Presidential aspirants will make their way in the contest that may feature some Governors is better imagined. Can Tinubu dare to ditch Buhari? I dey laf!

Chief John Oyegun has made various statements since the 13th of June convention. He finally claimed that he emerged as National Chairman as a consensus candidate, which puts to rest his previous hasty announcement that I had stepped down for him. Needless to say the process adopted at the APC convention for deciding on a new National Chairman was a sham in which I did not participate. The Chief knows very well that an even playing field, a fundamental requirement for sound intra party contest did not exist. He also knows what I know that the conspiracy, with all the plotting and scheming to install him as National Chairman had been cooking long before the Convention process was revealed. The delegation that visited Benin City unceremoniously, last year, to admit him into the ACN party made no contact with the State Party Leadership. He was drafted into our State Party by outsiders who had ulterior motives. I was away in Dacca Senegal on a private visit two weeks or so before the convention. It was in the Senegalese capital I read on the Internet Chief Oyegun’s press declaration of his candidature. When I returned home I was reliably informed that he had been instructed by his patrons to proceed and print campaign posters. All these maneuvers taking place even before the emergence of convention guidelines were manifestations of a festering conspiracy. Having been secretly assured of the outcome, the chief not only ignored the position of the Edo State Party on the issue, he never bothered to campaign. On my part I did not approach any of the 16 Governors or any Party leader to solicit for support to contest the National Chairmanship except for Governor Adams Aliu Oshiomhole of Edo State whom I saw in Benin City a few days to the convention when I became aware that the National Chairmanship had been zoned to the South South zone. My State Party- Edo State APC naturally supported me unanimously but I printed no posters, did not campaign, did not return the nomination forms as there was to be no election.

I have read statements in the press credited to one of the Governors who claims knowledge of what transpired, to the effect that the allocation of National Chairman and other National offices of the Party was negotiated between the Governors and Tinubu. The late night event that took place at Eagle Square on the 13th of June was just a stage-managed ritual to satisfy INEC requirements and deceive the nation. I was never part of any talks that resulted in the allocation decisions and certainly could never have been in support of a strange process that replaced the democratic procedures enshrined in the party’s constitution.

In the course of his maiden visit to Edo State Chief Oyegun, in his statement in the Governor’s office referred to me as those “disgruntled” at his emergence as National Chairman. In a subsequent interview in the Vanguard and Punch News Papers widely advertised on the Internet under the caption “Ikimi made mistake threatening to leave APC” he said among other things ” It is unfortunate that when you feel hurt, you threaten your party. That alone creates suspicion about you in the party that you still belong to. Let me say it was a mistake for him to threaten to leave the party” Certainly the euphoria and relish of his new office may have taken possession of him, blurring his vision such that he does not see the deep wound inflicted on the party, which is now disintegrating rapidly across the country. For the record let me state that it was I who admitted Chief Oyegun into the APP in 1999. He joined the ACN a year ago in Benin City after he departed from the ANPP where in the 2011 General Elections he was that party’s vice Presidential candidate. He certainly did not depart from the ANPP with great pleasure. Therefore moving from one party to another should not be so strange to him as his strange statement portrays. Let me state that notwithstanding my well known disagreement over the years with the conduct of Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, his actions within the AC, ACN and APC and notwithstanding the amazing retention of Chief Bisi Akande as National Chairman of all these parties since 2006, there was absolute mutual respect between me and Chief Bisi Akande. I have no difficulty in accepting any qualified member of the Party from any part of Nigeria emerging legitimately as National chairman. Chief John Oyegun visits me regularly in Benin City and Abuja where I treat him graciously but I demand of him to clarify what he meant by “the suspicion” he claimed the Party he joined through ACN (a party he became a member of last year) would have about me, a founding foundation member of AC, ACN and APC. Is he speaking for himself or singing his master’s tune?

Senator Ali Modu Sherriff, former two terms Governor of Bornu State enthusiastically supported the merger. In fact his influence as Chairman Board of Trustees of the defunct ANPP was crucial to bringing the party on board. Senator Sherriff achieved his first tenure as a Nigerian Senator in 1991 under the NRC party when I was the National Chairman. He always recalls the support i gave him in what was his maiden political outing. I appreciate the co-operation he gave to the merger committee, which substantially helped us to overcome impediments put on our way during the merger talks, by some leaders of the ACN and CPC, who did not want the ANPP on board. To get the APC off the ground Senator Sherriff made substantial contributions, which included huge finance.

On the 7th of March 2014 the APC staged a National Summit at the Hilton Hotel in Abuja which was an elaborate event choreographed to officially unveil the new party. An extensive presentation was displayed to showcase how the party was formed. Most fair-minded persons who attended the event were shocked to observe that not even a word was mentioned of me as one of those who contributed to the creation of the APC. Film clips were shown of Bola Tinubu, Muhamadu Buhari, Bisi Akande, Ogbonnaya Onu and a few selected others who in most cases gave distorted accounts of the merger process. Surprisingly it was Senator Ali Modu Sherriff who became so disgusted by the deliberate distortion of the facts that he had the courage to take the microphone and openly berated the injustice.
Some were obviously embarrassed but it turned out that those who prepared the presentation, many of them high ranking members of the party, were working on the instructions of Asiwaju Bola Tinubu. For his noteworthy and courageous public intervention on this matter, Senator Sherriff was now marked down by Bola Tinubu as having opposed him so much so that shortly after the event both men almost engaged in physical combat at an expanded National Exco meeting in Abuja.

Senator Ali Modu Sherriff may be a friend and long time political ally but he is certainly not my sponsor. I read several newspaper fictional stories that said Senator Sherriff was sponsoring me for National Chairman. That is not true.

The merger talks of 89 members hosted by me, was managed by a leadership of four which included HE Ibrahim Shekarau of ANPP, Alhaji Garba Gadi of CPC, Senator Ani Okonkwo of the APGA faction and myself of ACN. I was unanimously nominated by the group to preside as coordinating chairman. We worked harmoniously together and on the 6th February 2013 the four of us signed the agreement for the merger of the three parties and a part of APGA. I announced the merger and presented the agreement to the world. We continued to the next and difficult stages of agreeing a name, flag, motto and symbol for the party. These were very intricate negotiations! Our Sub-Committees worked on the Constitution and Manifesto. After all these were accomplished Asiwaju Bola Tinubu prevented a smooth establishment of the party in accordance with our agreements. HE Alhaji Ibrahim Shekarau former Governor of Kano State was sidelined in his State by a curious arrangement that ceded the party leadership in the state to the present Governor of Kano State with no defined role for the former Governor to play. He was compelled to withdraw his membership from the Party. He joined the PDP where he was recently appointed Minister of Education. Alhaji Shekarau possesses a very sound and critical mind. I found his contributions to our work most invaluable. Senator Ani Okonkwo has also announced his departure from the APC. The popular will, prevailing at the time among a cross section of members was that the Merger Leadership should continue to mold the party for at least six months and bring it to fruition by diligently establishing all its structures. Regrettably this was foiled by hijackers who have now crashed the project.

Governor of Sokoto State Alhaji Atahiru Bafarawa could not accept the shabby treatment meted out to him by those who seized the new party. Governor Bafarawa is very loyal and dependable. He is an astute politician with whom I have been associated for about thirty years now. He was NRC State Party Chairman of Sokoto State in 1991 when I was National Chairman. He has always been very keen on the unification of the opposition parties and consequently hosted several merger meetings prior to the 2011 General Elections. On this occasion he hosted the sittings of the Constitution committee.. Alhaji Bafarawa suffered unprecedented humiliation in the ACN in 2011 in a kangaroo convention staged in Lagos to select the ACN Presidential candidate. He therefore withdrew from the ACN party to return to the ANPP. This time as an ANPP delegate he enthusiastically participated in the merger talks. He has now withdrawn from the APC to join the PDP as he could not accept the sudden hand over of the APC Sokoto Party to the present Governor who during his tenure was his deputy.

Senator Ali Modu Sherriff has not hidden his very strong disapproval of the precarious direction that the Party is heading. The conduct of 13th June Convention was totally unacceptable to him. Following his open challenge of Tinubu it did not surprise me that Tinubu negotiated away all Sherriff’s nominees from the newly constituted National Executive committee. I understand that Sen. Ali Modu Sherriff is on his way out of the party, along with a very large slice of the party membership particularly from the North East.

It is not a coincidence to me that the prominent members of APC targeted by Bola Tinubu such as Alhaji Atahiru Bafarawa, Sen Ali Modu Sherriff and myself are former NRC members or those perceived as Conservatives.

Since after the 13th of June APC Convention and after my post convention statement, a few leaders of the APC have come to see me on their individual personal basis to plead with me not to abandon the party. I have received quite a number of telephone calls as well, conveying similar views to me. None of these persons could disagree with my very strong views against the turn of events regarding the mismanagement of the party nor of the grave injustice that has been perpetrated against me through an unprecedented level of conspiracy and bad faith. All they are saying to me is that I should not abandon what I had helped so much to build. It is truly amazing that all who have spoken to me privately without exception agree with me that the image of the APC as is a Tinubu Party has severely damaged the party but each time I openly raise issues that challenge the consequences everyone keeps quiet. It is common knowledge that the vote against the very popular candidate Sen Chris Ngige in the Anambra Governorship election and recently against one of the most successful Governors Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State was indeed a vote against Tinubu. Tinubu’s obsessive calculation of South West/North West votes is unproven and untested. It is in pursuit of a very selfish ambition that has seriously alienated block zones, such as South East, South South, North East and most of North Central from the party. The Party has collapsed in very many states such as Adamawa, it is in distress in Edo, Ogun, Oyo. Lagos, Nasarawa.

In consideration of all the above I have come to the following conclusions:

I have lived to see one of my major political yearnings in place. Now there are two major Political Parties in my Country – The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and The All Progressives Congress (APC). I am satisfied that I have played an important and historic role in ensuring the emergence of an alternative platform to the party in office. There are many now claiming leadership of the APC who were very skeptical when we embarked on the merger project who openly dismissed the idea that it would never work. Yes, some of them tried several times in the past to unify some parties in order to achieve bigger platforms but in an atmosphere of prevailing dishonesty, greed, unbridled ambition, uncompromising and undiplomatic approaches to such delicate negotiations, their efforts yielded resounding failure. For my part I enjoyed the respect of all the 89 delegates who met with me for about six months because they were very confident I had no personal agenda not even taking sides to protect positions of the ACN my own party then. But immediately we established what they had considered impossible to do, I became a prime target, as they believed that they could only control and manipulate the affairs of the party if I was not there. By my credentials in Political Party Leadership my claim to the top table in any party to which I belong is well earned! In the present atmosphere of envy, plots and gossip the long-term satisfaction of a political comradeship and brotherhood anchored on shared principles and ideology, of honor, trust and confidence in pursuit of a common goal remain elusive.

I understand they claim that I possess a strong and independent personality as well as a mind of my own which cannot be bent and so I am said to be one that could not be controlled. On a rather mischievous note, my foremost assailant in that party, peddles in one breadth a smear campaign that if I were to be in charge, I would sell the party while in another fowl breadth that I am an enemy as I had served in the Abacha Government. My so called strong and independent personality sometimes misconstrued as an arrogant mien is merely the creation of nature and I have never ever been harmful at all to anyone around me but as for an independent and firm mind I believe it is an asset and an attribute which indeed is so direly needed for good and fair leadership in our society today and I apologize to no one for being so created. It is really ironic that I was not accused of going to sell the party over the past 13 years or so that I struggled in different recorded ways to make notable contributions in creating and building it up in its various forms but that i was now to sell the party after working successfully to achieve its present mega format. Who by the way is the buyer? Is it the PDP Government that opened its doors once more recently to one of the APC foremost boastful and noisy leader to consummate a mega oil deal on the eve of that controversial APC convention? Who then is really selling and who is indeed buying? Who sold Mallam Nuhu Ribadu’s ACN Presidential candidature in 2011? Was it Chief Tom Ikimi? My tenure as Foreign Affairs Minister during the Abacha Regime has turned out to be a befitting reference in patriotic diplomatic Service in our country for which I am extremely proud! Why am I targeted for being that Foreign Minister that brought peace to Liberia, restored democratic Government in Sierra Leone, maintained the leadership of Nigeria in the OAU, ECOWAS and the UN, the first to turn to China with a trade delegation that opened up massive opportunities for our country but they fail to point even a feeble finger at others in their midst who benefitted immensely from the Abacha Government, some who ran the most lucrative agencies during that tenure, some others who made away with giant oil fields or are we blind not to see the giant, fancy lucrative projects currently being executed in partnership with well known Abacha foreign friends!

In consideration of all these I now have grave difficulty in operating side-by-side petty minded people who are so scared of my personality and are not willing to submit to firm impartial authority. I will not accept any imaginary bar to be installed over me, deliberately constructed by political enemies to prevent my ascension to any height of my choice in any party that I belong to, such as has been so blatantly done in the APC.

The recent mass exodus from the Party has effectively put the movement of the APC firmly in reverse gear. Those who have left include notables such as Alhaji Ibrahim Shekarau of Kano State, Alhaji Atahiru Bafarawa of Sokoto State, Alhaji Ali Modu Sherriff of Bornu State, Brg Gen Buba Marwa of Adamawa State, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu of Adamawa State, Senator Ani Okonkwo of Anambra State , Pastor Osagie Ize Iyamu of Edo State. I understand Chief Olusegun Osoba of Ogun State is on his way out too. The very weak National Leadership appointed for the Party in the last Convention is definitely incapable of restoring any positive movement to the party. The prevailing hostile atmosphere in the party does not present the opportunity for any intervention from me at this time at National, Zonal or State Level as I have done in the past.

I led the process of change in Edo State politics in 2006 when as National Leader of the Action Congress (AC) I brought the new party to the state. I worked with dedicated and courageous colleagues to establish the party in Edo State and we recorded a resounding success in the 2007 General Elections – our very first outing in the State. AC and eventually ACN has therefore been the Government in power in Edo State from 2008 to date and I am proud of the quality of peaceful, respectable and dignified leadership that I was able to provide to the party through these years. Comrade Adams Aliu Oshiomhole who joined us in the middle of our preparation for the 2007 General Elections met me in firm control of the Party and its Leadership in the State at the time. We welcomed him warmly and with our support he was lucky to emerge victorious in the State Governorship election and I have over the years enjoyed an excellent working relationship with the Comrade. Now as he is the APC Governor of Edo State, I wish him good luck, good health and God’s guidance as he proceeds to conclude his second term in office. But during the past seven years of performing my role as leader of the party in Edo State, my personal experiences of the relationship between the political party, the legislature and the Executive at State level has instilled in me very useful lessons that would be immensely helpful in any future roles.

I have no current or perceivable ambition to contest for executive power. My quest for an alternative political platform in the country is basically in pursuit of a credible political structure that would guarantee the vital checks and balances in the system so that our people may enjoy the benefits of alternative choices of National Government from time to time. It is certainly not for the creation of a vengeful ravaging army of flatterers and favor-seekers at the command of a desperate upstart with the hideous mission of stampeding an illusory enemy. While I have always regarded the entire country as my constituency, I am not oblivious of the reality of my circumstance as a South Southerner, a Christian from a so called minority stock who will continue to align with the forces of change that would guarantee justice, prosperity, peace and happiness for all our peoples. The forces that have now seized the APC in a stranglehold are on a mission very much against my conscience and indeed my very being.

I have always viewed a political party as a congregation of like-minded persons who become welded together in a close-knit brotherhood in a manner beyond mere friendship. In a Nation of two dominant political parties or even diverse political parties the members, across party lines, who are all in politics need not be sworn enemies. After all they are citizens of the same Nation with I suppose a mission of service to their people. Therefore their hold to power has to be at the discretion of the people.

I am at the stage of currently critically re-examining the two dominant political parties in our country, which are the APC and the PDP, in both of which I have had close working knowledge. I have not ignored the other political parties but in the light of the foregoing I must now search to really ascertain where indeed my true political friends exist. I need to be, at this time of my life where I have friends who share a common vision with me and where my freedom, respect, honour and dignity would be guaranteed. Notwithstanding my enormous contributions over the past 12 years or so to building the alternative platform, after very deep thought and the widest consultations I have made the decision to withdraw my membership from the All Progressives Congress (APC) from today, Wednesday 27th August 2014.


DOWNLOAD THE PREMIUM TIMES MOBILE APP

Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: Revealed!!! The Only Way Left of Getting an Extra Large Manhood and also Last Up to 38Mins+. Get the Insider Secret Here


TEXT AD: This NAFDAC APPROVED Solution Will Make You Stay Longer Than 40Mins In Bed Tonight And Help Your Erection. Click Here To Read The Free Reports


All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.


  • Segun Surulere

    Seems to have acquitted himself well with this rendition of facts and trajectory of events. What it also confirms is the megalomania of Tinubu , his penchant for dominance and relentless acquisition of lucre. Ribadu is indeed vindicated in his assertion that there is no difference between APC and PDP. We shall wait and see what happens to him in his quest for national power ….. Will his cohorts continue to tolerate his domineering habits in a so called progressive enclave ? Will the party ever be truly progressive and democratic ? We will surely see the end of this epic tragicomedy !!!

    • change 2014-2015

      Ikimi is confused that is why he does not feel come table again. We don’t want people like him in apc.

    • Wähala

      Seems to be on ego trip…

  • Mr. STEPHEN

    apc is on the reverse gear…hahahahaha, good for them, a party of people who play bitter politics…

    • change 2014-2015

      Shut up do you apc is like pdp. We need clean people in apc.

    • Wähala

      Drunkard… good morning!

    • Mosaku 147

      Weh you originate from?

  • Kay Soyemi (Esq.)

    Not a bad epistle at all, albeit, a lengthy one.

    Whilst I appreciate what appears to be very many personal sacrifices by Mr. Ikimi over the years to bring his vision to fruition, I must, at the same time, berate him for ignoring the much touted homily about dining with the devil and the attendant requirement for a long spoon.

    Sure, I have my reservations about Mr. Tinubu, but the reality of the Nigerian political scenario has placed him in a position to play a role – however that may have been achieved. I feel Mr. Ikimi has some measure of sour grapes here in that the so-called zoning of the Chairmanship of the APC still went to his zone – which he appeared comfortable with, but unhappy that he was not the ‘favoured one’.

    I am also bemused that, by his own words, he felt he was entitled to become the first permanent chairperson of the party he had helped in birthing. But I cannot help but wonder why he did not campaign nor fight for what he felt should rightly be his. The reality is such that if he failed to fight or campaign for it, he did not really want it and probably felt it should have been a coronation affair! Such is the weakness of a man’s mind that not having gone actively for what he desired, he now laments not achieving this.

    But generally looking at the overall picture painted by this epistle and other events that have come to pass since the creation of APC, I cannot but conclude that BAT may yet spell the death knell of the party by more or less reducing it to an alter ego of the defunct ACN!

    If APC is to play a more vibrant role on the national stage and, ultimately, the redemption of Nigerians from the aimless and ruinous governance of PDP, then the overbearing posture of BAT must be managed better.

    A word is sufficient for the wise, as the saying goes. But if a word is insufficient, then the handwritings on the wall must equally be heeded.

    • change 2014-2015

      This ikimi of a man is frustrated why must he be accusing Tinubu is it Tinubu that did not made him the chairman.

      • Kay Soyemi (Esq.)

        Change, that is actually an interesting angle to the debate I failed to spot earlier!

        Looking at things from that prism, it would appear that Mr. Ikimi is possibly aggrieved that he was not ‘enthroned’ by BAT.

        Leaves me wondering whether the position of party Chairman is about service or being serviced!!

    • Wähala

      Pinpoint… kudos!

    • TRUTH MASTER

      Thoughtful Kay Soyemi, the truth must not be lost on you: The APC guys simply muscled out Ikimi and Modu Sheriff because they never trusted the duo. Do you think it was a mere coincidence that the duo lost their deposits, so to say, in the quest for power in the APC? Do you know that some of their supporters even had their heads broken, figuratively speaking, as they suffered collateral damage for backing the duo? Ikimi may rant all he wants, but he is in the twilight of his political career. That’s why I called him an epitome of the past that we, Nigerians, are eager to forget. He cannot and must not be a part of the future for which we yearn…..if only for seeking to perpetuate Abacha’s rule and for justifying to an incredulous world the murder of Ken Saro Wiwa by the Abacha government!

  • Wähala

    Tom Ikimi’s Letter to the Pharisees…
    Abegi, instead of this long story, Tomos Ikimi should just swallow the bitter fact that his bros, Chief Oyegun, is the favored son of Edo to lead the APC. Other Sou-Southerners also lost out and even Tinubu’s preferred candidate was shoved aside by resilient Governors led by Okorocha, the APC Govs Chairman… so, why heap blame on Sen. Tinubu? Tom Ikimi is a sour loser who has nothing to offer other than his usual discordant personal vendettas. Let him go join Ribadu in line at Wadata Plaza and wait to be welcomed with open arms, Nigeria needs honest men who will put the nation before their personal ambitions. Tom Ikimi should go preach his “Edo bible” to the gullible… Höly Wähala is already a saved Soul. Who finished reading this lengthy rubbish should biko raise your hands… only the jobless has time for T-bone steaks!

    • Mosaku 147

      A real sour loser.you know,it’s more painful when you are outsmarted in a game of deceit.thats what has happened to them all:Ikimi,FFK and SAS.
      You can see they all have tried to use the one thing PDP have being trying to push down the throats of southerners,religion ;’APC is planning to field a Muslim/Muslim candidates’. Asiwaju is their problem.dem go die one by one.

    • Dr Akinwale Ajibade

      Tom Ikimi may be a sour loser, but I tell you this day, Thief Oyegun is a ‘jedijedi’ loser whose stint at the Government house in Benin remains a nauseating experience much as an excruciating nightmare. Today, not many will disagree that perhaps there have been only 3 Governors of that South State – Prof Ambrose Alli, Comrade Oshiomhole and Others.

      Yet, it is the insignificant and grossly irrelevant who form this strange committee of losers in APC. No other perfect failure than Oyegun would have been more qualified. Ikimi himself is not a saint but like Fani, Ribadu and now Mimiko, these men are just jobless nuisances whose only interest is their pocket and not party principles or ideologies. Visit Benin and see transformation. Then ask Oyegun to point to one achievement of his administration? It doesn’t matter whether he spent 1 day or 1 decade.

      Tinubu who will not find a hospital in Lagos to treat his simple knee problem after been chief executive for 8yrs deserves no attention. His children were all in Schools abroad during his tenure bcos the Nigerian schools are not befitting. Ironically, when these idiots leave power, they all set up schools and set the fees beyond the reach of the poor from whom they have all stolen at one time or the other. OBJ, Atiku, IBB etc are examples. No ward of the police corporal or Army sergeant can afford to attend their schools…and slow thinking like you will come here to write rubbish to support people like Tinubu.

      • Wähala

        You’re a senseless tout. What’s in my comment that makes you think I support Tinubu? I said he lost out to a powerful Governors’ block just like Ikimi which leaves the later with no option but to swallow his bitter medicine. Are you on drugs or what? Better stop smoking whatever it is that is frying your brains bcos I’m certain you’re a quack doctor/rate. Silly you, it is better they build the schools and hospitals in Nigeria than in South Africa (like Ibori did) or dump our dough in Saudi bank accounts (aboki way) or simply offshore… One day, a true messiah will come and nationalize all of it and cut costs. Bet you didn’t think of that with all your fake ‘Dr.’ and shallow comment. Dindirin… Olodo!

      • rakim

        Akiwale! I can see you delibrately Included dr samuel ogbemudia’s name amongst ur “”others”””or ur memory is too short to remember dr ogbemudia who was former mid western states built most of the roads and schools in edo state that gov oshiomole is renovating presently or perhaps u were not born by then or u have not read history about edo state ? I really ditest people who try to spread wrong info about what they dont know.

  • Newsday

    …APC: A BIG THIEF CAN LEAD THEM

    “It would come as no great surprise if Bola Tinubu’s boasted great
    wealth did not derive from any stupendous inheritance – ancient or
    modern. I have also become aware that he too is a beneficiary of most of
    the lucrative contracts in all the (Yoruba) ACN states without
    exception”.

    …………Chief Tom Ikimi

  • Dr.kay

    Democracy a la Nigeriana for you. He did not get the chairmanship job so this big baby of a man must now throw out all his toys including his beeb and dummy. Ikomi as we used to call him during Abacha time is not a democrat. A true democrat stays on principle and hold steadfast to it even if his ideas are in the minority , one day he will be vindicated , but not so for this turncoat big baby , he starts by first spitting off his dummy and then top it by crying that Tinubu stabbed him in the back. Why can’t Naija politicians take a page from the British or American politicians. Hilary Clinton didn’t resign her membership of the democrats and joined the republicans when she lost to Obama init? Why is it that in Naija even the one you think is above board and without reproach is the one that is dining with the devil and even licking the plate of soup (Ribadu comes to mind).Haba Naija when are we going to stop this chop -u – chop attitude and just serve the people without thinking of what we are going to chop and chop till there is nothing more to chop. Good riddance if APC is left with credible people who will deliver the dividend of democracy to the people ,I say who is left to jump ship to the other side wher it’s how much you can loot that chacterise their forte.

  • Larry

    APC in Yorubaland is a den of thieves. Nothing good can come from APC un-accountable government officials.
    Without exception, all the states under APC misrule are united by an overriding ideology of corruptive stealing.
    Nothing else defines APC as a disguised political party seeking power for self-enrichment of members’ wives and kids.
    Except that APC is, besides, a den of thieves filled with Alhajis – signifying nothing that a government should exist for.

    • Dr. Kay

      And pdp governed states are above board including the one presided by Dumbo ba? As they say remove the log in your eye before you become fixated in the speck in another’s eye. Hypocrites!

      • sharp shape

        Nonsense we want credible opposition ! But idiots like you are revisionist and hopeless charlatans ! Ile yoroba will be free from mauruders—- and thugs ! Down with pdp but may the demon scatter apc to hell hopeless octogenarian worshippers ! Get lost ojare

        • Dr. Kay

          Sharp shape kulu kulu kulu temper haba ogbeni mi e rele small small o Jare no need to resort to abuse and name calling just answer the simple question which pdp governed state or even the federal governed institutions is delivering half of what APC governors are delivering in their states …….. I’m waiting for your answer . Also you cannot cut off your nose to spite your face . Democracy is a gradual process you vote for the party that delivers and make them evolve into what you want if not you remove them ,this is what we will do to PDP next year and vote in APC and if they too disappoints they are out next election , that’s democracy not warmongering or abuses, kapish.

          • sharp shape

            Admittedly there are problems of graft and serious misappropriation of funds in almost all the pdp states ! But I challenge you to go to akwa ibom state gombe state enugu state jigawa state katstina state etc ! I do not hold brief for any pdp government but I think we should all stop this pretense that apc is the messiah we have been waiting for ! For years incompetent and callous politicians have ran Nigeria aground with inhuman policies ! Tinubu to me is the most despicable of the pretenders ! All APC states are the most debt ridden states of the union qirh nothing to show for it except pay taxes to the warload of boudilon jagagban tinubu who shamelessly removed one of our best legislative minds sen mimora and installed hos bimbo of a wife as replacement I can go on and on but I will stop for now because I know you have the cerebral ability to process the rest of the saga

          • Dr.kay

            Jiigawa and katsina are you serious? Sule Lamido stole over 1 billion of state money as egunje for contracts awarded and you say he is competent,a beg shift make we see road Jo, just say you don’t like Tinubu and everything he represent then we will move on if not at least be objective. By the way how did you know all APC states are more debt ridden than others? You saw their debt profile or ledger book?

          • sharp shape

            Thank you this is the type of dialogue that we should be holding ! Now kastina state before the present government can on board was blessed to have our former president in charge the amiable yar adua who is still adjudged the most honest man in government ! He set a standard which the present government has expanded even though he had a lot of allegations against the government jigawa state has had a lot of problems with corruption no doubt but the development stride has been tremendous !! Have you ever heard of boko haram bombings in kastina ? Remember it does not get more core north than kastina ! Lagos state on the other hand is blessed with the most hefty IGR !!! If lagos was a country of its own it would be an economy larger than Kenya the largest economy in East Africa !!! Ask yourself with such financial muscle can what we call the cosmetic development tinubu and fashola has been advertising in the biased ile yoroba media a good return for our money ? Wake up omo iya ! Tinubu has pauperized lagos for his own clandestine self aggrandisement ! The debt profile is out of the reach of our grand children to pay ! What do we have to show for it nothing !!! But the hot airs of a deluded granduer cooked up from the warped imagination of a diseased mind a polluted soul ! Ahmed bola tinubu has cornered our commonwealth for his grand illusions !! And pampered stewards of his illusions like you seem to have been hypothesized to give putrid airs to his grand illusions ! My grouse is against you dr kay because society counted on you to protect it from jackals like tinubu and buhari the man that killed the lagos— metro link because his religious bigotry and ethnic jingoism how dare you dr kay abandon us to these feudal overlords ! How dare you with the cerebral abilities you have refuse to see thro the smoke screen and hubris of the octogenarian dictatetorship ! I weep for my beloved Nigeria

  • Taire

    I don’t know anybody in the APC government in Lagos state that i can appoint as a trustee in my will at death.
    That says all i need to know, because trust is the first fundamental nexus between a government and the people.
    The APC Governor in Lagos State – Alhaji Raji Fashola – said he will never render account to Lagos tax-payers.
    How can a sensible Lagosian then entrust anything capable of being stolen to Alhaji Raji Fashola, for example?

    • Ms. Mos

      Journalists in Nigeria are too corrupt. None of them has ever asked the real question:
      “Where else did Bola Ahmed Tinubu get huge wealth from apart from official treasury”?

  • BlackieUmukoro

    Tinubu unveiled as never done before. Yeye people

  • The Revolutionary

    ONLY A BLOODY REVOLUTION CAN SAVE THE YORUBA…

    The Yoruba are in bondage. The people are captured by Bola Tinubu and his gang of thieves.
    APC official oligarchs in Yorubaland steal the people blind. There are no credible forums
    to bring these thievish government officials to justice. Faced with
    similar crisis in France, the French people decided that the retributory
    justice warranted for such rogue officials is death by the guillotine.
    The French quickly formed revolutionary committees and beheaded their
    own corrupt officials.

    Yoruba youths must form revolutionary
    committees in each local government to decide the punishment for these roguish APC/ACN officials. The Yoruba people should not exempt themselves from the
    currents of progress in history. Progress begins by insistence that no
    man shall oppress or exploit another man in a democracy. State assets
    are not anyone’s personal property. State assets do not belong to Bola Ahmed Tinubu and his family.

  • The Revolutionary

    ONLY A BLOODY REVOLUTION CAN SAVE THE YORUBA…

    The Yoruba are in bondage. The people are captured by Bola Tinubu and his gang of thieves.
    APC official oligarchs in Yorubaland steal the people blind. There are no credible forums
    to bring these thievish government officials to justice. Faced with similar crisis in France,

    the French people decided that the retributory justice warranted for such rogue officials is

    death by the guillotine. The French quickly formed revolutionary committees, and,

    beheaded their own corrupt officials.

    Yoruba youths must form revolutionary committees in each local government
    to decide the punishment for these openly stealing and roguish APC/ACN officials.
    The Yoruba people should not exempt themselves from the currents of progress in history.
    Progress begins by insistence that no man shall oppress or exploit another man in a democracy.
    State assets are not anyone’s personal property – and no official must be allowed to treat state assets
    as personal property. State assets do not belong to Bola Ahmed Tinubu and his family.

    • Gbenga Adelusi

      Look here, Mr. Revolutionary:

      The masses of the Yoruba are not victims of anything.
      They are simply retarded people who pawned their lives away.
      Did Bola Tinubu hold a gun to the heads of Yoruba voters?
      Did Raji Fashola threaten Lagosians with bodily injuries?
      Come on, open your eyes and see with it – the people are at fault.
      If they vote for thieves they deserve to be robbed to death.
      They can see the hotels their officials built with stolen money.
      What further evidence do the reckless Yoruba people need to be wise?

      • Pastor Jones

        “For what shall it profit a man if he shall gain the whole world and lose his own soul?

        The getting of treasures by a lying tongue is a vanity tossed to and fro

        of them that seek death. Whoever sows injustice will reap calamity and
        the weapon of his shenanigan will fail. There are thorns and snares on the path of the crooked;

        anyone who guards himself prudently will stay far from them.”

        “For a life based on corruption is varnished putrefaction. Parents who earned through bribes

        or corrupt practices have lost their dignity and fed their children with unclean bread.”

        “Receiving bribes is like a drug, as the receivers become dependent on the habit of bribes.

        Those involved in corrupt practices are like whitewashed tombs which appear

        beautiful from the outside, but inside, are full of dead bones and putrefaction.

        It would be better if a millstone were put around their necks and they be thrown
        into the sea, because where there is deceit the Spirit of God cannot be.”

      • Ike

        Gbenga,

        I agree with you. The Yoruba Christians vote for an Islamic state
        and they do nothing to demand public accounts since 1999.
        It means that Yoruba people want un-accountable government too.
        The international community must therefore not render help to the Yoruba.
        They have made their own choice and they must stew in their juices.

      • sharp shape

        What is going on ! I have just read two brilliant piece and you just added another masterpiece ! May Allah increase you abundantly may sadness never come near your abode only goodnews will be announced around you for it is written the righteous shall inherit the earth insha Allah

    • sharp shape

      Another son of light may you be blessed with joy and victory in all you do insha Allah

  • Ashibogu

    This man is not a serious person. He does not pay people who work for him. He is a liar and pretender. What he does not want people to do to him is what he does to others. This I know for a fact!

    • O’odua Activist

      Tom Ikimi is just jumping from frying pan to fire.
      PDP is an armada of robbers without conscience.
      There’s nothing to choose between APC and PDP.
      They are joined in the hip on a common intent to plunder.

      • sharp shape

        God will be with you son of light ! Death to buharam an unrepentant blood thirsty jihadist death to tinubu and death to the British fraud called Nigeria ! May the devil continue to ravage the fulani vagabonds with disease insha Allah

    • TRUTH MASTER

      Thank you for that insight!

  • Roberto

    Tom Ikimi does not pretend to be the solution – of course, he’s not.
    He’s too much part and parcel of the Nigerian anomie to become part of
    the solution. What he’s done here is to issue a wake-up call to slumbering
    Yoruba people that thieves have taken over their land whilst the people
    were waving brooms around like lunatics in the afternoon.

    • oriwu properties

      youre absolutely correct . TINUBU IS A CONFIRMED AGBERO/THIEF

    • TRUTH MASTER

      What an insult to a people. Yoruba do not need a demented Roberto to show them the way. Their antecedents prove that.

  • Gar

    A fantastic piece from Ikimi. A must read for Political Science students. Also an eye opener for Nigerians about how their future is decided by a small minority in some small “parlours” in Abuja or Lagos. What a pity for a country of over 170 million people! More revelations please. It will help in deciding 2015.

    • TRUTH MASTER

      Nothing fantastic about this write-up. When you show so much animosity towards a man as he did towards Tinubu, it makes you look very small. Defeated and disgraced, the old chief is now sulking. Glad to see the arrogant man pummelled to the ground.

  • Countryman

    My question is this, assuming he was given the National Chairmanship position, would he decamp from APC to PDP? He should have just left & not to write plenty grammars

    • TRUTH MASTER

      Brilliant!

  • TRUTH MASTER

    All I can deduce from this epistle is one man’s unbridled hatred for another, and the outpouring of a very bitter mind.

    The bottom line in life is your integrity. When the chips are down, that is what you will be judged by

    I have said it in many fora and will repeat it here: Left to Ikimi, Nigeria will still be under the military! He did all he could to perpetuate military rule, including cascading from being the Chairman of NRC to becoming an errand boy for a sadist-dictator.

    The truth is that if Ikimi had been allowed to become the Chair of the APC, this rascally old man would have sold the party to the PDP! He was nothing but a mole in the party, along with the Boko Haram’s alleged sponsor Ali Modu Sheriff.

    People under-estimate the guys over there are the APC. Well, those who do will live to regret it. How is it that Ikimi and Sheriff lost out in the APC power game? How is it that none of their candidates or anyone close to them survived the intense power play? Why was Oyegun preferred to Ikimi? Does anyone remember Oyegun’s role in the battle against Abacha, the same goggled one that Ikimi was reveling with?

    Congrats, APC! You have another reason to celebrate after the exit of Sheriff!!

  • Emmy

    ADEIU TO TOM IKIMI
    However anybody sees it, these are election times and every rude politician is about jostling for where they will be (with dreams of looting) come 2015. Ikimi, Ribadu and their lot are just but examples of what is happening at all levels and mostly in PDP and APC. Tom Ikimi is a pity because he has been denied the Chair and at his presumed level, cannot sit and watch the game from the gallery, answering party loyalist, when the Chairman is seen as the party’s Ultimate-ego. BAT has become a force to reduce, else APC will lose (2015) and again (2019) to PDP. APC is not an alternative to PDP but Same-As-The-Same as PDP. The only person still giving PDP life is Jonathan. Little wonder why those who sympathize with APC are having a harder time convincing anyone else to join them. The more fortunate to PDP is that, firstly, the major moves against the party has been done and many of them ran into APC. So for starters, anyone that came from APC or other party leaving the PDP for APC or other party now will be counted as a person of little or no character. Secondly, after the Presidential and Gubernatorial nominations in PDP there will disaffections too, especially on the sides of those whose major membership of the party is to seek power and therefore there will be some sore points where persons will want to leave (majority of the people who do this decamping cannot win elections that the party be it PDP or APC do not back). However, clean wise men and women are emerging, those that whose acceptance will rise above any party and be reckoned with standing on their. Adieu to many rusty and dubious politicians, including our dear Tom Ikimi. Nigeria will soon clean up!!!

  • John green

    When a man is on a verge on the destruction, we don’t beg him to come back, a man who wants to have it all will not have chance at the progressive party and the warning is that, you can’t hav it all in life, why does he think that it’s all about him alone, we wish him well but he’s one of those that doesn’t mean well for the country, apology for saying the truth

  • Psalm 35

    Day by day former APC members continue to live the militant party in droves but as they do so they confess to facts we already knew which is that the party is a one man business centred around very few individuals whose plan amongst other things is to plunder and islamize Nigeria.

    But as long as the sky remains blue, the Aggrieved Peoples Caliphate will never win or form a govt at the centre. Nigerians now know better, they now understand that this terrorist affiliate of the muslim brotherhood seeking to win a decisive majority by appealing to just the NW and SW (i.e. a minute percentage of the country), would definitely not serve the interests of the majority of the populace.

    The Aggrieved People Caliphate is a terror appendage,too too militant to be a viable opposition and definitely too bugged down in deceit,debauchery and treachery to form a credible govt at the centre.

    Let me repeat this again for, come this time next year, APC would have gone into oblivion after they must have been roundly thrashed and humiliated at the polls at all levels.

    • Sani

      The bottom line is that the APC has learned a hard lesson from its past. Tom Ikimi and SAS are PDP. They had wanted to drag the party down had they secured positions in the APC. They have succeeded in routing these guys from party. And who are these people? They cannot boast of any followership either before or now.

      • sharp shape

        Death to APC death to buharam and death to fulani barbarism insha Allah

    • TRUTH MASTER

      Moles! That’s what Ikimi and Sheriff are. Outgunned and outsmarted, they tuck their tails in between their legs and fled! I dey laugh ooooooooo

  • Enemona

    This is a stinky hatchet job but it’s as watery as a 3-month old’s poo.

    • sharp shape

      Poor man like you ! Imagine an under achiever ! What have you ever headed in your life ! I bet you are not even the head of your poverty stricken family ! Death to buharam death to tinubu death to APC insha Allah

      • TRUTH MASTER

        As you wish others, so shall it be for you! That’s a natural law.

  • Richard

    In as much as I’m not a fan of either PDP or APC, I will never be carried away by Ikimi’s epistles. Politics is a game of numbers. Every politicians all over the world wants to control the main soul of their party. Just because someone beats the other to the game is not enough excuse to change party. In the USA where we have the most advanced democracy , one can not but find such a struggle for the soul of the party. Within Republican Party for example, there are Tea Party, Libertarian , Moderate , Liberal, Conservative caucuses. The main ideology common to all these people is that government should have a limited role in the life of its citizens. Each of these caucuses always wants to control the soul of the party. That is the reason they form action packs to raise money and publicize their programs and their candidates. All of them can not win but only one person at a time. If you lose , you go back to the drawing board to strategize which might include negotiation with other groups . One thing that’s clear is that you don’t switch party if indeed you are in politics for ideological reasons. What Ikimi just did is an example of jealousy and being a bad loser.

  • wode

    All this goes to show us that most of, if not all, the politicians are there for only self-interest. What Chief has just told us is that because he can’t get immediate return in his “investment” so far is the reason for leaving the party. It’s really pathetic.

    The truth of the matter is that, one person or group of people would be in control of party at one time or the other depending on the size of the party , and most of the time who the major financial of the party is. When OBJ was in power, the fact that Atiku dared to challenge him not to contest for the 2003 election caused him (Atiku) his strong political relevance. The same is happening now in PDP. Why is nobody there to challenge Jonathan as to the control of PDP? Jonathan fought for it with all the resources and he won the control and that resulted in people like the great OBJ withdrawing from “active party politics”. He did not say he’s leaving the party. Who says he (chief Tom) can’t be in control in future. He shouldn’t be a bad loser.

  • Olusegun Osewa

    In my opinion, chief Tom Ikimi has every right to change platforms, especially if he is no longer comfortable where he was. However, one would have expected that, having been a high ranking member of this party, and having most likely benefited therefrom, he should have done so quietly and graciously. After all, there are supposed to be no permanent enemies or friends… If Tinubu has been able to scheme him out, it goes to suggest that his standing wasn’t firm enough?

  • Oladipo Babatunde

    Little did Chief Ikimi know that a lot of people will never be surprised at his exit, no matter how he tried to paint Tinubu and others black. Apart from Ribadu, there is hardly any other person whose dumping of APC came as a shock to those who know the antecedents of all these jumping politicians. It would have been better for Chief Ikimi to leave quietly and save himself the treatise he recently delivered. He does not look like a politician who can inspire anyone with an independent mind. What people like him enjoyed in the days of terror still gives them an overbloated impression about their personality. So, if he could not get the chairmanship of APC, the party and its leaders are evil. Why not show them why he is a better politician…

  • Ibe

    The writer of this article is a shame. Paid traitor. We Asians have chosen Alex, not you or the Gov can change that.