Ogun swears in new Local Government Chairmen

Forty eight hours after they were elected, the new 19 local government chairmen in Ogun State were sworn in by the State’s Chief Judge, Olatokunbo Olopade, on Monday.

The swearing-in ceremony, which took place at the June 12 Cultural Centre, in Abeokuta, the state capital, was attended by the Governor of the State, Ibikunle Amosun.

While addressing the new council bosses, who were all dressed in white traditional agbada, Mr. Amosun encouraged them to improve on the internally generated revenue of their respective local governments.

He advised them to resume their duties immediately and ensure they swear in the elected councilors in their councils.

Mr. Amosun also praised the Ogun State Independent electoral Commission “for providing a level playing ground for all parties and contestants.”

All the 19 Local Government Chairmen are members of the Action Congress of Nigeria, the same party Mr. Amosun belongs to.

The ACN also won 217 councillorship positions; the Peoples Democratic Party won 10, while the Peoples Party of Nigeria won one seat. The results of 10 councillorship elections, and the chairmanship seat for Imeko-Afon Local Government, were withheld based on a court order.


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application


All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.