Premium Times reporter nominated for the Future Awards 2012 Young Person of the Year

The Head of the investigation desk at Premium Times, Idris Akinbajo, is one of the  nine young people nominated for the “Future Awards 2012” young person of the year.

A press release from the organizers of the award said Mr. Akinbajo has been nominated alongside other admirable young personalities such as Bankole Wellington (Banky W), Dapo Oyebanjo (D’Banj), Linda Ikeji, the duo of Peter and Paul Okoye  (P Square), Chinwe Njoku, Raheem Bello and Jason Njoku.

According to the central working committee of the Future Awards, the nominees are “being identified as trailblazing role models for young Nigerians.”

All the nominees are young Nigerians who have distinguished themselves in their chosen field. Banky W, D’Banj, and P Square are top Nigerian musicians; Ms. Njoku is an award winning engineer; Ms. Ikeji, a prominent blogger and media enterpreneur; Mr. Bello, an internationally recognised young scientist; and Mr. Njoku, a media enterpreneur.

Mr. Akinbajo and three other editorial staff of PREMIUM TIMES have also been nominated as finalist for this year’s CNN/Multichoice African Journalist of the Year Awards slated for this Saturday in Lusaka, Zambia.

The other three nominated from the newspaper are Musikilu Mojeed, Peter Nkanga and Elor Nkereuwem. They were nominated for their six-part series on corruption in the oil and gas industry, published in the rested NEXT newspaper.

Mr. Akinbajo is the current African Investigative Journalist of the Year, and the Nigerian Investigative Journalist of the year 2011.

He also won the best Nigerian investigative story in print, and second best Nigerian investigative story (Online) awards in 2011.

An elated Mr. Akinbajo said on Tuesday he is excited about the nominations for both the Future Awards and the CNN/Multichoice African Journalist of the year award.

He believes such nominations are motivating factors for him to continue to do well in journalism. According to him, “journalism is the best channel available for me to push for change and growth in my country”

The Future Awards is held annually to recognise young Nigerians who have distinguished themselves in their career. The full list of the nominees for this year’s award can be found on:

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.