Permanent secretaries now heading Nigerian ministries (FULL LIST)

President @MBuhari presides over Valedictory Meeting of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) today at the State House, Abuja
President @MBuhari presides over Valedictory Meeting of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) today at the State House, Abuja

In preparation for his next term in office, President Muhammadu Buhari on May 22, told the ministers to hand over the mantle of leadership to the permanent secretaries in their various ministries.

He also directed the ministers to submit their handover notes to the Secretary of the Federation (SGF), while permanent secretaries prepare to take over.

Mr Buhari gave these directives at the last Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting in Abuja.

The president lauded members of the federal cabinet, who resigned earlier for various reasons.

Most of the ministers were sworn in on November 11, 2015.

Since the handover, between May 22 and 28, permanent secretaries of various ministries have taken over the mantle of leadership.

Below is the list of the ‘acting ministers’ (Permanent Secretaries)

Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development- Mohammed Bello

Ministry of Budget and National Planning- Ernest Umakihe


SGF Campaign AD

Ministry of Communication- Istiafanus Fukur
Ministry of DefenceNuaratu Batagarawa.

Ministry of Education- SonnyEchono

Ministry of Environment- Odusote Abimbola

FCT- Ohaa. Chinyeaka Christain.

Ministry of Finance- Mahmoud
Isa- Duste

Ministry of Foreign Affairs- Mustapha Suleiman.

Ministry of Health- Abdullahi Abdullahi

Ministry of Information- Grace Isu Gekpe

Ministry of Interior- Georgina Ehuriah

Ministry of Justice- Dayo Apata

Ministry of Labour and Employment- Williams Alo

Ministry of Niger Delta- Aminu Aliyu Bisalla.

Ministry of Petroleum- Yemi Esan Folasade

Ministry of Works and Housing- Mohammad Bukar

Ministry of Power- Louis Edozien
Ministry of Science and Technology- Birtus Bako

Ministry of Solid materials- Abdulkadir Muazu

Ministry of Trade Investment and Industry- Edet Sunday Akpan

Ministry of Transportation- Shaibu Zakari

Ministry of Water Resources- Ekaro Comfort Chukwumuebobo

Ministry of Women Affairs- Ifeoma Anabogwu

Ministry of Youth and Sports- Olusade Adesola


Tribunal Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.