Reconcile all aggrieved APC members before 2019 elections, Oshiomhole tells committees

APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomole Photo: DailyPost
APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomole Photo: DailyPost

The All Progressives Congress (APC) National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, has inaugurated a National Peace and Reconciliation Committee for each of the six geo-political zones of the country to reconcile all aggrieved members of the party ahead of the 2019 general elections.

Mr Oshiomhole, while inaugurating the committees on Wednesday in Abuja, said its members were expected to help the party’s national leadership to find an in-house solution to the acrimony that followed the party`s primary elections.

He added that members of the committees were also to maintain peace and ensure internal harmony within the APC family before the elections.

He further added that the essence of the committees was to bring about lasting peace in the party ahead of the 2019 general elections.

“Help reconcile those who are aggrieved for whatever reasons, do everything that will help in your wisdom to bring peace in your zone,” Mr Oshiomhole said.

The national chairman said members of the committees should meet aggrieved members and leaders of the party in their zones to reconcile them.

He explained that the party had to set up the committee in the six geo-political zones to fast track its reconciliation efforts.

He thanked members of the committees for accepting the responsibility, adding that chairmen of the committees could appoint secretariat staff in their zones to facilitate their work.

Mr Oshiomhole, however, said that the party may not have been able to solve all the country`s problems but had done well in rebuilding the country`s economy.

He said Nigerians who had good memories would recall that the APC had done better in the last three and half years than the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) which was in power for 16 years.

According to him, the only integrity the PDP has is looting the national treasury, saying that the APC is today delivering on the campaign promises it made to Nigerians in 2015.

Mr Oshiomhole further said the APC was today a bigger family because of its antecedence which made more Nigerians to join its fold.

“We have gone through a very crucial stage in the processes leading to the next Presidential, National Assembly, Governorship and House of Assembly elections.

“I think, from my own records, of the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory, I believe we have done exceedingly well as it is impossible for the most gifted child to score 100 per cent in every subject.


wits Advert

“The more questions you have to answer, the more chances are that you will miss some of them.

“I believe that the house is bigger today than it was before, because those who have reservations, have since realised that President Muhammadu Buhari means business and APC is delivering on its promises,” Mr Oshiomhole said.

He maintained that the party`s accomplishment in the last three and half years had enlarged it and brought in more quality political activists and leaders as well as huge electoral value across the states.

Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno State who spoke on behalf of the committees, thanked the party`s leadership for the responsibility and assured that the committees would deliver on their mandate.

“Be rest assured that we will put in our best to ensure the reconciliation of all aggrieved party members ahead of 2019 general election,” Mr Shettima who heads the South West National Peace and Reconciliation Committee, said.

Below is the full list of members of the committees.


1. Gov. Abiola Ajimobi – Chairman

2. Gov. Mohammed Abubakar

3. Gov. Yahaya Bello

4. Sen. Adamu Aliero

5. Sen. Danjuma Goje

6. Sen. Jim Nwobodo

7. Amb. Fati Balla


1. Gov. Abdullahi Ganduje – Chairman

2. Gov. Samuel Lalong

3. Gov. Kayode Fayemi

4. Sen. Godswill Akpabio

5. Alh. Umaru Dembo

6. Alh. Nasiru Koki

7. Mrs. Ify Okoye


1. Gov. Kashim Shettima – Chairman

2. Gov. Nasiru el Rufai

3. Gov. Akinwumi Ambode

4. Sen. Ken Nnamani

5. Prof. Modupe Adelabu

6. Dr Dakuku Peterside

7. Sen. Seida Bugaje


1. Gov. Ibrahim Geidam – Chairman

2. Gov. Godwin Obaseki

3. Gov. Rotimi Akeredolu

4. Gov. Jibrilla Bindow

5. Chief Pius Akinyelure

6. Barr. (Mrs) Vivian Chukwuani

7. Chief Audu Ogbe


1. Gov. Rauf Aregbesola – Chairman

2. Gov. Atiku Bagudu

3. Gov. Abubakar Bello

4. Sen. Gbemisola Saraki

5. Mr Emeka Wogu

6. Mr Sullivan Chime

7. Mrs Aleluchi Cookey-Gam


1. Gov. Tanko Al-Makura – Chairman

2. Gov. Aminu Masari

3. Gov. Abubakar Badaru

4. Chief (Mrs) Jumoke Anifowoshe

5. Mr Matthew Omegara

6. Hajia Hafsat Baba

7. Gen. Abdullahi Aboki



SGF Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.