Leadership Newspaper names Buhari, Jonathan, persons of the year

President Muhammadu Buhari and his predecessor, Goodluck Jonathan, have been named the Leadership Newspaper’s persons of the year.

They were named alongside the immediate past chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commision, INEC, Attahiru Jega.

Leadership announced the awards on Thursday at an event at the Transcorp Hilton Hotel, Abuja.

Meanwhile, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, has abruptly left the venue of the event where President Buhari is seated.

Mr. Dogara left alongside some members of the House of Representatives, including House Leader, Femi Gbajabiamila.

The Speaker was one of the recipients of the annual awards by Abuja-based paper.

Mr. Dogara left immediately after the key note speaker, Governor Udom Emmanuel of Akwa Ibom, began his speech.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.