Governorship Election: Nigeria Police deploy AIGs to Rivers, Akwa Ibom, other flashpoints

IGP Suleiman Abba

The Nigeria Police on Thursday deployed senior police officers to oversee governorship and state assembly elections in states considered as the likely flashpoints on Saturday.

Assistant Inspectors General of Police will supervise elections in 16 states, including Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Lagos States, and other potentially troubled spots, a statement from the force said Thursday.

Elections in four other states, including Ekiti, Anambra and Osun, will be overseen by Commissioners of Police.

In addition, a Commissioner of Police has been deployed to command each Senatorial Zones in Gombe, Bauchi, Imo, Akwa Ibom, Lagos, Benue, Edo, Plateau and Sokoto states, the statement by police spokesperson, Emmanuel Ojukwu, said.

In Rivers State, the Special Units of the Nigeria Police Force have been deployed to address security concerns.

The units are the 32 Units of Police Mobile Force, 4 Units of Counter terrorism Units, 4 Units of Special Protection Units and six Crack Teams of Detectives from Force Criminal Investigation Department and complements of Intelligence officers.

The police had earlier deployed six Deputy Inspector Generals of police to the six geopolitical zones in Nigeria to coordinate election activities.

Opposition candidates in several states, including Akwa Ibom and Rivers, had demanded the redeployment of Commissioners of Police in their states, accusing them of colluding with the ruling parties to rig the March 28 presidential election.

Below is a list of the officers deployed and states deployed to:

S/NORANK                   NAMETO
1AIGUsman GwaryAbia State
2AIGOlufemi AdenaikeKwara State
3AIGMbu J. MbuOgun State
4AIGPatrick DokumorKaduna State
5AIGTambari MuhammedJigawa State
6AIGMohammed AbubakarGombe State
7AIGIkemefuna OkoyeOyo State
8AIGTunde OgunsakinRivers State
9AIGJubril AdenijiBauchi State
10AIGYerima IrimiyaImo State
11AIGAdisa BolantaAkwa Ibom State
12AIGLawal TankoLagos State
13AIGBallah NasarawaBenue State
14AIGMusa DauraEdo State
15AIGAderele ShinabaPlateau State
16AIGBala HassanSokoto State
17CPSam OkaulaAnambra State
18CPE.J IbineEkiti State
19CPAdamu MohammedEnugu State
20CPValentine NtomchukwuOsun State


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: Revealed!!! The Only Way Left of Getting an Extra Large Manhood and also Last Up to 38Mins+. Get the Insider Secret Here

TEXT AD: This NAFDAC APPROVED Solution Will Make You Stay Longer Than 40Mins In Bed Tonight And Help Your Erection. Click Here To Read The Free Reports

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

  • Akiika

    No rigging! let the people’s will be.

  • Adebayo Mike James

    Buy Dangote Cement at a promo price 1,150 naira for buyer above 100 bags.
    For more info call the sales manager Mr Adebayo mike on 08096821286
    Delivery can be made all parts of Nigeria.

    • fake adebayo

      Sorry I prefer Ibeto cement to Dangote’s.

  • Yoko Zuna

    INEC should consider handheld CCTVs providing “live” feedback from all Pollinh Units, directly to INEC HQ, and not rely on useless policemen of the NPF, the most corrupt police on Earth.

  • Damilola

    Every one commenting on GEJ seems to be missing out something. Something I call Qualifier Nigerian leadership culture. A quintessential Nigerian leader is neither prepared for power nor competent. Either in their humble self or arrogant bigoted toga, they remain grossly incompetent. You can scan through the history of Nigeria and count on. The job seems to be bigger than them all, it’s always beyond them. We’ve witnessed this before and we’re still in the mire.