Only registered IDPs in Adamawa, Borno and Yobe will vote – Jega

Former INEC Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega
Former INEC Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has said that only registered Internally Displaced Persons, IDPs, within the troubled states of Adamawa, Borno and Yobe, will be allowed to vote in the February general elections.

INEC Chairman, Attahiru Jega, made the disclosure on Tuesday morning at a workshop on Internally Displaced Persons and 2015 general elections.

However, Mr. Jega emphasised that IDPs that are no longer within Adamawa, Borno and Yobe states would not be given voting rights.

He said INEC would be setting up special centres for the IDPs to vote, as the least that could be done to allow for their participation, Mr. Jega said.

Mr. Jega also said that the special centres would be used for the distribution of Permanent Voters Cards, PVCs to the IDPs.

But he said no centre would be created within the camps of IDPs.

According to the National Emergency Management Agency, NEMA, the officially registered number of conflict and disaster-induced IDPs stands at 868,235 in Borno, Yobe and Adamawa states.


PT Mag Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.